Guides: Spanish and Portuguese Studies: SPAN 397

Race and Ethnicity in Latin America

Welcome to the SPAN 397 course guide. If you'd like to meet to discuss any of these resources, please schedule an appointment, or email me at jm3102@georgetown.edu

AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Full Text of all American Anthropological Association's (AAA) journals and bulletins as well as archived issues of all the AAA journals, newsletters and bulletins.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Primary index to materials for research in non-U.S./non-Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Covers world history from 1450 to the present.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes the major scholarly journals in the social sciences, including public policy, since 1983. For prior years, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Combines several of the Library's heavily used databases, including ProQuest Research Library, into one easy-to-search interface. Thousands of journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and other scholarly content on a very broad range of topics and sources.
Oxford Bibliographies Online - Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliography of scholarship in Latin American Studies and related topics.

Latin America & Iberia Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from more than 600 social science and humanities journals. Includes works published throughout the world which relate to Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Most articles are in Spanish or Portuguese, though some English language periodicals are indexed.

Dialnet
Created by the University of Rioja in Spain, Dialnet indexes science and social science materials published in Spain, Portugal and Latin America.
Redalyc (UAEM)
Latin American online journals in humanities, social sciences, and sciences. In Spanish, Portuguese, or English.

Play with subject headings (controlled vocabulary used in cataloging) to help you identify resources. For example, if you look at the subject headings in this book: México's nobodies : the cultural legacy of the soldadera and Afro-Mexican women

You can then use these terms to do searches, by placing them in the "subject" field in the HoyaSearch advanced search option.