Spanish and Portuguese Studies

Gateway to all the statistical information of Latin America and the Caribbean countries collected, systematized and published by ECLAC.

Social statistics on population, labor, education, health, housing and basic services, poverty and income distribution, and gender and economic statistics on economic growth, national accounts, prices, balance of payments, external financing and debt, external trade, production of goods, and other subjects. 1973-present

Online version of the World Development Indicators and Global Development Finance. Comparable data collected by the World Bank to measure development outcomes. The World Bank's principal data source on the global economy. More than 550 time series, 1960-present, on more than 200 countries and 18 country groups, covering demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.

Source data on the conditions associated with outbreak of war and militarized disputes. Includes data sets, and also articles and other secondary data sources

Includes statistics on poverty and other distributional and social variables from 24 Latin American and Caribbean countries, based on microdata from households surveys.

This is a website that organizes a wide variety of information about commercial bilateral trade in Latin America. Includes the text of trade agreements, new developments, news, themes such as environmental issues or transparency, and issues and agreements organized by particular country.

From the World Bank.

Includes Argentina, Brazil, and Cuba.

From the United Nations University's World Institute for Development Economics Research.

AidData attempts to capture the universe of development finance and foreign aid, increase the value of data by providing more descriptive information about development activities, and provide data in an accessible format.

This site contains surveys of people in Latin American countries on issues of democracy and democratic values. Includes data sets and country studies. Ask at Reference Desk for user name and password.

Searches over a thousand public surveys from Latin America, created and maintained by the Roper Center at the University of Connecticut.

Compilation of questions and responses from more than 12,000 national, state, local and special surveys. Includes polling from the U.S. and abroad.

The Comparative Study of Electoral Systems
(CSES) is a collaborative program of research among election study teams from around the world.

Detailed data for legislative elections held around the world. Created and maintained by the Center for Political Studies at the University of Michigan.

Contains links to many online electoral data resources. Maintained by the Latin American Electronic Data Archive at the University of Texas at Austin.

Population, fertility, and health surveys conducted by a variety of Central American institutions, maintained at the Universidad de Costa Rica. Includes some censuses. Individual registration required. En español.

Produced by the International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI), the Food Security Portal covers issues of food availability and the food trade from a variety angles. Statistics on hunger, commodities, land use, and many other topics are readily available.

Includes statistics and data on population size, causes of death, and life expectancy from 1840 to the present. Free registration required.

Contains data from the Regional Core Health Data Initiative, as well as links to other health data resources provided by PAHO.

By country

Contains a variety of data sets on Cuban, Haitian, and Mexican refugees, race and ethnicity issues, and new immigrants, among other topics.

Digital story-telling project, organized by US and Mexican institutions

Contains transportation statistics about and between Mexico, the United States, and Canada.