Guides: Spanish and Portuguese Studies: Books

E-books

E-books are available in our catalog. If you want more information about our e-book subscriptions, please visit this page: E-Book Research Guide

Duke University Press - Latin American Studies eBooks This link opens in a new window
The Latin American Studies e-book collection's over 600 titles include many field-defining, award-winning books vital for courses and scholars in the field.
The collection is built around classic titles in Latin American history and culture and has consistently prioritized local and indigenous voices. More recently, the collection features interdisciplinary books at the forefront of Latinx and Chicanx issues, decoloniality, environmental studies, and postcolonial theory, while also addressing music, art, film, television, and other aspects of popular culture. In addition to US-based scholars, the collection includes voices from throughout Latin America, including translations of significant works from Spanish and Portuguese.
Digitalia This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to thousands of books and periodicals from academic and high-quality Iberian and Latin American publishers. Many titles appear in HoyaSearch as well. Coverage includes essentially all topics, but focuses particularly on Iberian and Latin American history, culture, and literature. Most titles are in Spanish but there is a growing number of Portuguese, Catalan, and Galician titles.

Biblioteca virtual de CLACSO
Includes CLACSO books, including novedades, that can be downloaded
Iberoamericana Vervuert Books

Finding Subjects in Lau

The tables below outline subject areas for books on the Spanish and Portuguese languages, as well as relevant literature, and their locations in Lauinger Library.

Spanish Language Portuguese Language

Call Number	Subject	Location
PC 4100 - PC 4399	Grammar	4th floor
PC 4620 - PC 4693	Dictionaries	4th floor
PC 4700 - PC 4977	Dialect	4th floor

Call Number	Subject	Location
PC 5001 - PC 5498	Portuguese (General)	4th floor
PC 5067; 5444	Grammar	4th floor
PC 5333	Dictionaries	4th floor
PC 5076; 5431; 5447	Dialect	4th floor

Spanish Literature Portuguese Literature

Call Number	Subject	Location
PQ 6001 - PQ 6168	History and Criticism	5th floor
PQ 6001 - PQ 6056	General	5th floor
PQ 6056	Moorish-Spanish Literature	5th floor
PQ 6058 - PQ 6060	Early to 1500	5th floor
PQ (6061) - PQ 6073	Modern	5th floor
PQ 6075 - PQ 6098	Poetry	5th floor
PQ 6098.7 - PQ 6129	Drama	5th floor
PQ 6131 - PQ 6153	Prose	5th floor
PQ (6155) - PQ (6167)	Folk Literature	5th floor
PQ 6168	Juvenile Literature (general)	5th floor
PQ 6131 - PQ 6153	Collections	5th floor
PQ 6170 - PQ 6174.9	General	5th floor
PQ 6174.95 - PQ 6215	Poetry	5th floor
PQ 6217 - PQ (6241)	Drama	5th floor
PQ 6247 - PQ 6264	Prose	5th floor
PQ (6265) - PQ 6269	Translations	5th floor
PQ 6271 - PQ 6498	Individual authors and works to 1700	5th floor
PQ 6500 - PQ 6576	Individual authors, 1700-ca. 1868	5th floor
PQ 6600 - PQ 6647	Individual authors, 1868-1960	5th floor
PQ 6650 - PQ 6676	Individual authors, 1961-2000	5th floor
PQ 6700 - PQ 6726	Individual authors, 2001-	5th floor
PQ 7000 - PQ 8929	Provincial, local, colonial, etc.	5th floor
PQ 7081 - PQ 8560	Latin American Literature in Spanish	5th floor

Call Number	Subject	Location
PQ 9000 - PQ 9999	Portuguese Literature	5th floor
PQ 9000 - PQ 9129	History and Criticism	5th floor
PQ 9000 - PQ 9034	General	5th floor
PQ 9035 - PQ 9055	Special Periods	5th floor
PQ 9061 - PQ 9081	Poetry	5th floor
PQ 9083 - PQ 9095	Drama	5th floor
PQ 9097 - PQ 9119	Prose	5th floor
PQ (9121) - PQ (9128)	Folk Literature	5th floor
PQ 9129	Juvenile Literature (general)	5th floor
PQ 9131 - PQ 9188	Collections	5th floor
PQ 9131 - PQ 9144	General	5th floor
PQ 9137	Translations (within General)	5th floor
PQ 9149 - PQ 9163	Poetry	5th floor
PQ 9164 - PQ 9170	Drama	5th floor
PQ 9172 - PQ 9188	Prose	5th floor
PQ 9189	Individual authors and works to 1500	5th floor
PQ 9191 - PQ 9255	Individual authors and works, 1500-1700	5th floor
PQ 9261	Individual authors, 1701-1960	5th floor
PQ 9262 - PQ 9288	Individual authors, 1961-2000	5th floor
PQ 9300 - PQ 9326	Individual authors, 2001-	5th floor
PQ 9400 - PQ 9999	Provincial, local, colonial, etc.	5th floor
PQ 9500 - PQ 9698.436	Brazil	5th floor

Check out the Latin American Studies Guide and the Lusophone Studies Guide for more locations!