The largest and earliest English-language national newspaper published in Japan covering both the country and the world. Digital archive covers from 1865-1866 and 1897 to the present. Also includes the archive of the Japan Advertiser (1913-1940), which merged with the Japan Times in 1940.
A component of the Archives Direct suite of collections sourced from the National Archives--the UK government's official archive, Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919-1952 makes available extensive coverage of British Foreign Office files dealing with Japan between the years 1919 and 1952. The collection is divided into three modules: Japan and Great Power Status, 1919-1930; Japanese Imperialism and the War in the Pacific, 1931-1945; and Occupation of Japan, 1946-1952. Part of Archives Direct.
Incorporating the Taishō to the Shōwa periods, these papers shed light on Anglo-Japanese ties in a time of shifting alliances. Documenting Japan’s journey to modernity, the files discuss a period in which the country took on an increasingly bold imperialist agenda.
Consisting of diplomatic dispatches, correspondence, maps, summaries of events and diverse other material, this collection covers British concerns over colonial-held territory in the Far East, as well as Japanese relations with China, Russia, Germany and the United States.
State Department reports, letters, and documents on Japan before, during, and after World War II. Includes Japanese military activities, estimates of economic production, and social attitudes. Part of Archives Unbound.
German Colonial aspirations in Asia and the Pacific ended with the start of the First World War. Japanese Army forces seized German leased territories in China and the Japanese naval forces occupied the German Pacific colonies. The Treaty of Versailles legitimized Japan’s aggression and the territories were officially mandated to the Japanese government. This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the German colonial governments and later the Japanese mandate authorities, and the activities of the native peoples.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy