Japanese Studies

References western-language books, chapters in edited volumes, journal articles, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften on all parts of Asia. Allows browsing by subject, journal title, or by country/region or search by topic. Covers the social sciences as well as the humanities.

The largest and earliest English-language national newspaper published in Japan covering both the country and the world. Digital archive covers from 1865-1866 and 1897 to the present. Also includes the archive of the Japan Advertiser (1913-1940), which merged with the Japan Times in 1940.

Primary Sources for Japan Studies between 1930s to 1970s.

The electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources (mostly in translation). Paid ads are excluded.

Abstracts, table of contents and full-text available in some journals

JapanKnowledge is a portal to Japanese encyclopedias, dictionaries and databases. Contents include Nihon Kokugo Daijiten, a largest Japanese language dictionary that contains 500,000 entries and 1,000,000 examples, Rekishi Chimei Taikei, a largest historical & geographical dictionary that consists of 51 volumes, contains 200,000 entries, and updated from printed version (1979-2005), Kôdansha Encyclopedia of Japan, the largest encyclopedia in English about Japan, Nihon Dai Hyakka Zensho, one of the largest encyclopedia in Japanese (31 volumes), Jitsû, one of the best dictionaries about history and culture of Kanji, Imidas and Gendai Yôgo no Kiso Chishiki, dictionaries of current words, e-book of Tôyô Bunko series, e-journal of Shûkan ekonomisuto and etc.

Eight (8) simultaneous accesses are shared among the consortium of currently ten (10) participating institutions.
Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search (formerly Kikuzo II Visual for Libraries) is a news retrieval service from the publisher of Japan’s second largest circulation newspaper, Asahi shinbun 朝日新聞. Coverage includes over 8,000,000 full-text articles from 1945 to the present.

Compiled by the publisher Koseisha, this database indexes Japanese periodical articles for the period of 1868 to the present. It also includes locally published journals from 1948 to the present not indexed by the National Diet Library of Japan. The contents of the Koseisha database are regularly updated.

Limited to 1 concurrent user. Includes Yomiuri shinbun 1874 to the present: image format from 1874 to 1989; full text 1986 to the present, along with the English edition: the Daily Yomiuri (Sept. 1989- to the present), both searchable by article, keyword, subject category, and issue. Charts and photographs are not included. Also includes biographical information on 26,000 people.

Conference proceedings and working papers from participating institutes around the world. Includes the full text of books and book summaries, journal abstracts, links to websites and a calendar of conferences and seminars.

Primary index to materials for research in non-U.S./non-Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Covers world history from 1450 to the present.

The online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Contains books, journals, newsletters, statistical periodicals, reference works, and interactive statistical data tables in over 25 database products published since 1998. Text can be searched by theme or country. Statistics can be searched by title and theme. Statistical databases allow users to build their own tables from the latest data, draw graphs and tables, and download to Excel or as .csv files.

A subject guide to journals, books, pamphlets, and government publications relating to economics, social conditions, and international relations.