Provides links among three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary (MED), a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse (based on the MED bibliographies), and other related electronic resources including a collection of more than 50 Middle English texts.
Middle English Dictionary: The print version (LAU Stacks and Cataloging PE679 .M54), now nearing completion, has been described as "the greatest achievement in medieval scholarship in America," offering a comprehensive analysis of lexicon and usage for the period 1100-1500.
HyperBibliography of Middle English: Includes all the Middle English materials cited in the MED. Titles were adopted from A Manual of the Writings in Middle English (LAU Ref PR255 .S4).
Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse: A growing collection of Middle English electronic texts eventually to include all editions of Middle English texts used in the MED and the more recent scholarly editions that may have superseded them.
Described as "the greatest achievement in medieval scholarship in America," offering a comprehensive analysis of lexicon and usage for the period 1100-1500.
July 2023: Off-campus access to the OED is not working in certain browsers. More info.
The largest dictionary and the most complete historical record of the English language. Use for:
--How a word was used in a specific time period
--When a word or phrase (e.g., fagged out) was first used
--Where words come from (etymology)
--Sample quotations using a particular word
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy