Skip to main content

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

ArcGIS Software

Technical Support

Do not contact Esri directly for software support. They will not help you.

Esri offers a variety resources to support your use of ArcGIS products. If you encounter a problem installing, updating, or using any ArcGIS software, please use these resources first:

  1. EsrI Technical Support: Provides a knowledgebase of documentation for all Esri products, including ArcGIS Pro, ArcGIS Online, and ArcGIS Desktop.
  2. GIS Dictionary: A dictionary of terms related to GIS operations, cartography, and Esri technology.
  3. GeoNet: A free community of users providing ideas and support for cartography and Esri products.
  4. Downloads: A source for the most recent patches and service packs for Esri software.

If you find that you are still in need of technical support, please contact the Library's Electronic Resources & Serials Unit.

Data Services Policy

Georgetown librarians will assist in identifying and accessing data sets within the Library collection, from University data sources, and from other, outside resources.  The library does not provide advice on conducting statistical analysis.  All patrons are responsible for software installation. Georgetown University Library staff will not perform software installations. The following data services are available only to Georgetown students, faculty, and staff, and are provided by subject librarians.

Numeric data:

  • Reference assistance via Library reference desks (in person and phone), IM chat, and email.  
  • Research Consultations: Individual consultations are available by request.  Please request a research consultation to schedule an appointment with a librarian.  
  • Instructional Support: Librarians can provide in-class instructional sessions or course-specific research guides on data resources. Please submit an instruction request for in-class instruction.  

Geospatial Data and GIS:

  • Research consultations: Individual or group consultations are available by request. Please email to schedule an appointment.  
  • Instructional Support: The data services librarian can provide instructional sessions to introduce classes to GIS. Please submit an instruction request for in-class instruction.

Data Collection Development Policy:

The library collects data sets and sources of data for the use of Georgetown faculty and students. The library collects data in subjects supported by the overall collection development policy of the library.   

Data sets will be added to the collection based on the following criteria:

  • Are in an accessible format or interface and do not have limiting user restrictions.
  • Come with necessary documentation, such as the codebook and relevant metadata.
  • Are in a format that can be read by our most heavily used statistical software packages, such as Excel, Stata, SPSS, SAS, and ArcGIS.  
  • Do not duplicate data that are already available through the library or open to the public. 

The library will acquire only data whose license it can support.

All requests for purchase should be directed to Ding Ye. All requests are considered on a case by case basis following the stipulations of this policy. Preference is given to purchases that will benefit the greatest number of users.


Updated July 2016.

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy