REES-4398/5501: Senior Colloquium/Capstone Seminar

Click on "Enter (no registration)" to access database. A searchable database providing a wide variety of current information about Russia, the CIS, and the Baltic states. Includes full text of central and regional newspapers and journals, full text legal databases, and a variety of business and statistical resources and dictionaries. The search interface is available in both English and Russian with queries and results available in Cyrillic or transliterated Roman script.

Provides cross-searching of several databases: various historical media archives (Argumenty i Fakty, Izvestiia, Krokodil, Literaturnaia Gazeta, Moscow News, Post-Perestroika Newspapers, Pravda, Societskoe Zdravookhranenie, Voennaia Mysl'); Current Digest of the [Soviet and] Post-Soviet Press; CIS & Baltic Periodicals; Russian Central Newspapers; Social Sciences & Humanities [periodicals]; individual titles (Far Eastern Affairs, International Affairs, Social Sciences, Voprosy Literatury); 2010 Presidential Election in Belarus, and Russian/NIS Newswires. Most sources are in Russian or English.

The Universal Database of Central Asia and Caucasus (UDB-CAC) includes a number of authoritative periodicals published in the Newly Independent States of the former Soviet Union. The sources are mostly in Russian and English and cover various issues of domestic and international importance. Many titles have an archive going back to 2000.

The Universal Database of newspapers from the Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, Ukraine, Moldova and Belarus (UDB-EUR) includes important periodicals published in these newly independent states which used to be part of the Soviet Union. The sources are in mostly in Russian and English, and they cover various issues of domestic and international importance.

Universal Database of Russian Central Newspapers (UDB-COM) contains around 40 actively publishing Russian central newspapers and weekly magazines, covering the entire spectrum of domestic news, as well as the currents of Russia’s economic and cultural life. Most items are published in either Russian or English.

Also includes The Current Digest of the Soviet Press (1949-1991) and The Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press (1992-2010). Provides weekly translations of articles from over 60 newspapers and magazines, such as Pravda and Izvestiia. Includes a quarterly index.

Includes full-text translations of foreign radio and television broadcasts as well as selected foreign news, periodical articles and government statements. Search by geographic region, article type or publication title. Browse "Events" to see chronological coverage of topics of interest. Coverage is continued by the World News Connection database.

Index to FBIS reports from 1941 to 1996. Lauinger's Government Documents department has the full text on microfiche of items listed in this database from 1941 through the mid-1990s. Full text is also available for 1974 to 1996 from FBIS Reports Online. For 1994 to the present, see the World News Connection database.

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexi Uni has three primary collections: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.

Offers translated and English language news and information compiled from non-United States media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Contains information derived from full-text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. Coverage runs from 1995 to December 31, 2013.

An archive dating from 1983 forward of what was once the largest circulation newspaper in the world. Today, the newspaper is a popular weekly writing on all subjects in plain language.

Also includes The Current Digest of the Soviet Press (1949-1991) and The Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press (1992-2010). Provides weekly translations of articles from over 60 newspapers and magazines, such as Pravda and Izvestiia. Includes a quarterly index.

33 newspaper titles spanning 1831 to 1916 from Saint Petersburg, Moscow, and other Russian cities. An open access collection provided through the Center for Research Libraries.

Among the longest-running Russian newspapers, Izvestiia was founded in March 1917 and during the Soviet period was the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR. Remarkable for its serious and balanced treatment of subject matter, Izvestiia has traditionally been a popular news source within intellectual and academic circles.

Moscow News (published 1930-2014) was the oldest English-language newspaper in Russia. From a mouthpiece of the Communist party to an influential advocate for social and political change, the pages of Moscow News reflect the shifting ideological, political, social and economic currents that have swept through the Soviet Union and Russia in the last century. The Moscow News Digital Archive offers scholars the most comprehensive collection available for this title, and features full page-level digitization, complete original graphics, and searchable text, and is cross-searchable with numerous other East View digital resources.

This database includes the Pravda archive from its launch in 1912 through 2009. Pravda was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991.