Guides: REES-4398/5501: Senior Colloquium/Capstone Seminar: Articles & Books

Broad Article and Book Databases

HoyaSearch This link opens in a new window
HoyaSearch is the GU Library's discovery layer and catalog. HoyaSearch data comes from Georgetown and WRLC Consortium holdings, many of the Georgetown databases, and a variety of other resources. You can find books, journal and newspaper articles, encyclopedias, images and media, and primary sources in HoyaSearch.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ABSEEES) This link opens in a new window
Citations to U.S. and Canadian publications on topics related to East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union, including culture, history, economics, international relations, and literature. It contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. For on campus or GU-authenticated users, results contain links to electronic full text from GU-subscribed content, especially journal articles. (If off campus, click on Settings and then on Library Links. Type Georgetown in the search box.)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields.
Online Databases of Russian/NIS Publications This link opens in a new window
Provides cross-searching of several databases: various historical media archives (Argumenty i Fakty, Izvestiia, Krokodil, Literaturnaia Gazeta, Moscow News, Post-Perestroika Newspapers, Pravda, Societskoe Zdravookhranenie, Voennaia Mysl'); Current Digest of the [Soviet and] Post-Soviet Press; CIS & Baltic Periodicals; Russian Central Newspapers; Social Sciences & Humanities [periodicals]; individual titles (Far Eastern Affairs, International Affairs, Social Sciences, Voprosy Literatury); 2010 Presidential Election in Belarus, and Russian/NIS Newswires. Most sources are in Russian or English.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Combines several of the Library's heavily used databases, including ProQuest Research Library, into one easy-to-search interface. Thousands of journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and other scholarly content on a very broad range of topics and sources.

Subject-Specific Article Databases

Public Policy / Government / International Relations

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
A subject guide to journals, books, pamphlets, and government publications relating to economics, social conditions, and international relations.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new window
Conference proceedings and working papers from participating institutes around the world. Includes the full text of books and book summaries, journal abstracts, links to websites and a calendar of conferences and seminars.
ProQuest Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Political Science covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.

Literature & Language

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides access to worldwide scholarly research in literature (including drama), language, linguistics, folklore, film, radio, television, and theater, representing all national literatures. Does not include book reviews.

Business & Economics

ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text business publications and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business. Coverage goes as far back as 1886. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, books, videos, major reference works, book digests, and conference proceedings.
Covers management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Titles include Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, MIT Sloan Management Review and Administrative Science Quarterly.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts worldwide economic literature. Has article citations from over 400 major economic journals since 1972. Includes indexing of some book reviews, dissertations and working papers.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
The online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Contains books, journals, newsletters, statistical periodicals, reference works, and interactive statistical data tables in over 25 database products published since 1998. Text can be searched by theme or country. Statistics can be searched by title and theme. Statistical databases allow users to build their own tables from the latest data, draw graphs and tables, and download to Excel or as .csv files.

General Social Sciences

Russian Social Sciences and Humanities Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Contains contents of major Russian periodicals on social sciences and humanities. It is comprised of all 31 journals of the Russian Academy of Sciences ranging from archeology to linguistics, as well as popular literary editions, and independent scholarly publications. New titles are added on a regular basis.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts from over 3,000 journals in the social sciences. Part of Web of Science.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes the major scholarly journals in the social sciences, including public policy, since 1983. For prior years, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.

Library of Congress Resources

Beyond Georgetown's collections, the Library of Congress offers vast physical and electronic collections of materials related to Russian, East European, and Eurasian studies.

The European Reading Room (Jefferson Buildng, Room LJ-249) is open to researchers to use the library's physical and electronic collections on-site. Staff are available to answer questions and to help you navigate the Library's holdings. Overviews of the Library's regional collections are available online, as well as lists of electronic resources that can be accessed by researchers when in the Library.

Researchers should expect to obtain a reader registration card in person before accessing collections and should review the Library of Congress guides for researchers before traveling to Capitol Hill.

Transliteration and Searching in Cyrillic

Transliteration is the rendering or conversion of one type of script to another (as opposed to transcription, which concerns the sounds letters make). Many libraries transliterate texts in Cyrillic scripts.

When searching, attempt queries in both transliterated and original text whenever possible. Texts in original language scripts, including Cyrillic, are not always included in all database or library records.

Transliteration systems can vary but most libraries in the United States use the ALA-LC Romanization Tables. Common tables include:

For other types of transliteration of Cyrillic scripts, additional tables referencing the ISO and GOST standards are available.