Professor Jan Karski (1914-2000)

The University Archives has three main photographic collections which include photographs of Jan Karski, see below. Request them for use in the Booth Family Center for Special Collections via the Aeon request system.

Please note that researchers will be given gloves when they are handling photographic materials.

• University Archives Photographic Collection,  GTA.000109 

  This collection contains a folder of negatives and prints of Jan Karski, including a classroom photograph labeled: "Issues in Eastern Europe." One of these images can be seen via DigitalGeorgetown. 

• University Photographer’s Files, GTA.GAMMS305

  box 11, folder 74. Contains negatives and print. Includes shot of conferral of honorary degree on Jan Karski. 

  box 22, folder 7. Foreign Service School - 60th Anniversary., 1979. Contains negatives and contact sheets of speakers and audience at a celebration of event. Includes shots of: Joseph Durkin, S.J.; Dean Peter F. Krogh; Frank L. Fadner, S.J.; and Jan Karski.

  box 22, folder 38. Foreign Service School - Founders., October 1980. Contains negatives and contact sheets of group in front of Globe in lobby of Walsh. Group includes: Joseph Zrinyi, S.J.; Jan Karski; and Jules Davids.

• University Photographer (Humnicky) - 150731

  Box 8, folder 85. Jan Karski Statue Dedication and Polish Foreign Minister Wlodzimierz Cimoszewicz Visit, September 10, 2002.

Images in Georgetown University Yearbooks (Partially Available Online)
Digitized volumes of Ye Domesday Booke from 1901-2011 can be browsed and searched via DigitalGeorgetown. This link aggregates search results for the name Karski. Note that the Date Created facet in blue on the right side of the screen (scroll down to see it) can be used to limit results to a particular time period. To search within any item that appears on the aggregated list of search results, click on the title in blue, then click on the blue ViewOpen link at the top of the screen, then hold down the control and f keys on the keyboard at the same time, and enter a search term in the box which appears in the top right corner. 

Note that the East Campus (consisting of the Foreign Service, Business, and Languages and Linguistics Schools) produced its own yearbook, Protocol, between 1948 and 1967. This has not been digitized. Request Protocol volumes for use in the Booth Family Center for Special Collections via the Aeon request system.

Photographs in the University Art Collection

The University Art Collection can be searched via its Web Kiosk site. A search on the name Karski (use the search box at the top right) brings back 38 results, including a number of photographs taken by GU alumna Carol Harrison. Email: speccoll@georgetown.edu for more information.