Professor Jan Karski (1914-2000)

Note the access to items available online via HoyaSearch will require a GU NetID login.

• Archives reference files

  University Archives staff maintain reference files on a variety of subjects related to Georgetown University history, including on Jan Karski. These files contain photocopies of newspaper and magazine articles, brochures, and other documents found in the University Archives collection. They are intended to provide a starting point for research rather than to offer exhaustive coverage of any subject but they can often provide the answers to basic informational questions.

   Available for use in the Booth Family Center for Special Collections; request them via the Aeon request system.

• Gale in Context: Biography (Available Online - GU NetID login required)

  Available through Lauinger Library’s website, this gives access to two biographical essays, as well as newspaper and magazine articles. To access it, click on the link under the Biography Resource Center heading on this page, then navigate to the Gale in Context: Biography link on the 5th row of the screen you are taken to, click on that link, and enter the name Karski in the search box of the next screen.

• Polish History Museum. ”Jan Karski: Humanity’s Hero” ( Available online)

  Includes photographs and a brief recording of Professor Karski

• Jan Karski Educational Foundation. “Jan Karski’s Life” (Available online)

• United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. Holocaust Encyclopedia. Entry for Jan Karsk (Available online)

• Yad Vashem, the World Holocaust Remembrance Center in Jerusalem. “The Envoy.”  (Available online)

• Reference entry in Holocaust Literature: An Encyclopedia of Writers and Their Work, 2002 (Available online)

• Kozlowksi, Maria. The Emissary: Story of Jan Karski. Ministry of Foreign Affairs : Warsaw, 2007

  A 63 page booklet, this is housed in the University Archives; request for use in the Booth Family Center for Special Collections via the Aeon request system.