Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

Georgetown University Archives

This guide introduce researchers to the Georgetown University Archives: what we do, what materials we have, and how to get started with identifying and using material in the Archives.

Finding Aids

The University Archives creates guides called "finding aids" after a collection has been cataloged. A finding aid basically tells you what you can expect to find within a given collection. Finding aids usually include a description of the materials, date ranges, and references to people or subjects that are the primary focus of the collection. Some finding aids contain more detailed information than others and not all collections have finding aids. If you can't find what you are looking for, please contact a staff member in the University Archives for assistance.

You can search the available finding aids in the University Archives by clicking this link. Finding aids are also available for the other Special Collections materials that may be related to collections in the University Archives. You can search across all of the Special Collections repositories at Georgetown by clicking this link.

 

Example of a finding aid from the Georgetown University Finding Aids website

Example of a Georgetown University Archives Finding Aid

 

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy