Women at Georgetown University

Attitudes of and towards women on campus can be discerned through the content of student yearbooks, newspapers, and magazines. Don’t overlook advertisements and cartoons when they are included. Note that there are no indexes for these publications, so when they are not available digitally, researchers will have to browse through the physical issues to find relevant content.

All of the publications listed below are available for use in the Booth Family Center for Special Collections on the 5th floor of Lauinger Library; request them via the Aeon request system. 

• Ye Domesday Booke, 1901-2017 (yearbook). Available online

  Digitized volumes from 1901-2011 can be browsed and searched via DigitalGeorgetown.The Date Created facet in blue on the right side of the screen (scroll down to see it) can be used to limit to a particular time period.To search within any item: click on the title in blue, then click on the blue ViewOpen link at the top of the screen, then hold down the control and f keys on the keyboard at the same time, and enter a search term in the box which appears in the top right corner

  Physical volumes from 1901-2017 can be used in the Booth Family Center for Special Collections

  Note that no yearbooks were produced in 1903, 1906, 1907, 1945, and 1946 and that many of the pre-World War I yearbooks were produced by Law students with coverage limited to that school

• Apollonian (Dental School yearbook), 1947-1990 (not digitized)

• Caduceus (Nursing School yearbook),1948-1969 (not digitized)

• Curette (Dental Hygiene yearbook), 1930s (not digitized)

• Journey's End/ Grand Rounds (Medical School yearbook), 1947-   (not digitized)

• Protocol (East Campus yearbook with coverage of the Foreign Service, Business and  Languages and Linguistics Schools), 1948-1967 (not digitized)

• Georgetown College Journal, 1872-1920. Available online

  The College Journal was the first printed newspaper produced by Georgetown students. A monthly publication, it is a combination of student newspaper, literary publication, and alumni bulletin. The printing of letters and reminiscences from “Old Boys” extends its coverage of campus life and events to well before the Civil War. The College Journal predates the admission of women to any GU school except Nursing; however, the publication can be used to discern student attitudes to women more generally

  Physical volumes are available for use in the Booth Family Center for Special Collections

  Digitized issues can be browsed and searched via DigitalGeorgetown. The Date Created facet in blue on the right side of the screen (scroll down to see it) can be used to limit to a particular time period. To search within any item: click on the title in blue, then click on the blue ViewOpen link at the top of the screen, then hold down the control and f keys on the keyboard at the same time, and enter a search term in the box which appears in the top right corner. Remember that language changes over time and as you search, look in the results for other words to search on. Terms to search on include:  woman, women, girl, feminine, nurse. Searches can be truncated by adding a *, i.e. nurs* will find results for nurse, nurses and nursing

• The Hoya, 1920-present. Available online

  Physical copies are available for use in the Booth Family Center for Special Collections. Request them via the Aeon request system

  Digitized issues from 1920-1999 can be browsed and searched via DigitalGeorgetown. The Date Created facet in blue on the right side of the screen (scroll down to see it) can be used to limit to a particular time period. To search within any item: click on the title in blue, then click on the blue ViewOpen link at the top of the screen, then hold down the control and f keys on the keyboard at the same time, and enter a search term in the box which appears in the top right corner. 

  Remember that language changes over time and as you search, look in the results for other words to search on. Terms to search on include: woman, women, girl, lovelies, femme, feminine, Hoyette.  Searches can be truncated by adding a *, i.e. girl* will find results for girl, girls, girlie, etc.

  Issues from 1998 onward  can be searched on The Hoya’s website. The search box is found under the  About Us tab at the top of the landing page

• Georgetown Voice, 1969-present

  Physical copies are available for use in the Booth Family Center for Special Collections. Request them via the Aeon request system

  Issues from 2001 onward can be searched on the Voice’s web site. The search icon is found at the top right of the landing page

• Serials: "Hoya Review", GTA 000302

  Published by The Hoya, 1985-19689. Box: 1, Folder: 2: 1986 (March and May), volume 1, issue 3, includes article: "Breaking the Sexual Barrier: Celebration Marks 15 Years of Women in the College" by Mary Prahinski

• Foreign Service Newsletter, 1949-1952. GTA 000287

  A weekly student publication documenting the activities, news and interests of the Foreign Service School students. Photographs are included

• Foreign Service Courier, 1952-1971

  Published bi-monthly. Initial focus is on campus news and commentary on national current events of interest to the SFS student. This changes in the late 1950s when pieces become mostly opinion-based.  Note the extensive coverage of the annual Miss Foreign Service competition. In 1962, the Courier has a women editor, Mary Jo Bane, F’1963, for the first time

• Spotlight (Nursing School newsletter), 1939-1941. GTA 000612

  Includes coverage of topics such as: student government, Sodality, Dramatic Club, the Nursing School song, initiation, capping exercises, and the Thanksgiving basket drive

• Starch and Stripes (Nursing School newsletter), 1951-1958. GTA 000306

  Includes photographs

• New Press, 1988-2000. GTA 000254

  Founded by a group of ten undergraduates, the publication was intended to bring greater focus to women's issues.  The first issue notes: Women’s issues affect the lives of both men and women and demand the participation of both in their discussion. The establishment of a women’s journal, designed to provide a forum for information, debate, and opinion is based on this premise of mutual interest

• Serials: "Georgetown's Blue and Gray", 1987-1989. GTA 000129

   Volume I, Number 1. October 1987 references the introduction of the women's studies minor by College. 

  Volume 1, Number 4. Graduation 1988 references women’s studies

• The Academy/Georgetown Academy, 1990-2009. GTA.000310

  Volume 9, October 1997-February 1998, Issue 2: includes “Students at GU Upset By Pamphlet for Freshman Girls 'Guide' Says Feminists' Data Are False"-Julia Duin first published in the "Washington Times" on October 28, 1997 and "A Date With Controversy: Since Two Georgetown Students Issued a Conservative Manifesto On Feminism, The Campus Response Has Been Most Unladylike"-Elizabeth Kastor first published in the "Washington Post" on January 12, 1998