Women at Georgetown University

University publications provide information about the activities and roles of women on campus, as well as clues to how they are perceived by their male peers.  Note that there are no indexes for these publications, so researchers will have to browse through physical issues to find relevant content.

All of the publications listed below are available for use in the Booth Family Center for Special Collections on the 5th floor of Lauinger Library; request them via the Aeon request system.

• Georgetown Record, 1952-1968. GTA 000153

  A monthly publication produced by the Office of University Development and Public Relations, this provides coverage of events on campus and the establishment of initiatives and programs, and includes profiles and photographs of individual faculty, staff and students

  Examples of references to women and women’s issues in Georgetown Record include:

  April 1952: Includes article re appointment of Mary C. DeRisi as first woman faculty member at Dental School

  November 1954:  Includes article re:"five graduate women dentists from outside the USA . . . studying at the Dental School . . . they are Dr. Ladda Charuvastr, Thailand, Dr. Clarita DeGala, Philippines, Dr. Lourdes Almeda, Philippines, Dr. Assimina Ailanou, Greece, and Dr. Nenita Salcedo, Philippines."

  January 1957: Includes article re appointment of Helen E. Steinbinder as first woman on Law School faculty

  February 1965: Includes article re: award of Federal Women's Award to Sarah Stewart, a professor in the Medical School

  March 1965: Includes article re Woman's Day, including address by Mrs R. Sargent Shriver

  January 1966: Includes article re: Women's Service Organization

• GU Today/Georgetown Magazine, 1969-present

  Magazine for alumni and faculty

• Serials: "Mid-Week Report", 1971-1978. GTA 000311

  Published weekly by the Office of Public Relations for faculty and staff, this provides coverage of events on campus, the establishment of initiatives and programs and includes profiles and photographs of individual faculty, staff and students. Examples of references to women and women’s issues in Mid-Week Report include:

  Volume 2, number 5. February 1, 1972. References election of Bernadette Savard as editor-in-chief of The Hoya ("thus becoming the first women in the student newspaper's 52 year history to hold the position")

  Volume 3, number 25. July 24, 1973. Includes article re organization of the Women's Forum

  Volume 3, number 41. December 4, 1973. Includes article re appointment of Jayne Thomas Rich as first woman to head GU's Protective Services

• Serials: Record, GTA.000747

  Published weekly by the Office of Public Relations for faculty and staff from 1979-1984, this provides coverage of events on campus, the establishment of initiatives and programs and includes profiles and photographs of individual faculty, staff and students. Examples of references to women and women’s issues in the Record include:

  February 18, 1982. Volume 4, number 6. Includes article on the establishment of Women and Foreign Service Program funded by a Donner Grant

  January 20, 1983. Volume 5, number 5. Includes article on the appointment of Madeleine Albright as Director of Women in Foreign Service Program

• Blue & Gray, 1990-present

  Newspaper for staff and faculty

• Serials: Women's Studies News, GTA 000753. One issue only: volume 5, issue 1, 1997

Miss G Goes to Georgetown, GTA 000706 and G Book, GTA 000705

Between 1951 and 1972, the University produced separate handbooks for women and men students, titled Miss G and the G Book respectively. A comparison between them reveals much about attitudes towards women on campus. For example, the G Book covers athletic schedules, guidelines for student demonstrations and the grading system, while Miss G supplies wardrobe planning advice and identifies the roof of Darnall Hall as the only location on campus where sunbathing is permitted. Miss G also lays out a system of demerits absent from the men's handbook. An accumulation of 350 demerits in one semester would be reported to the Dean of Women. Careless grooming, for example, would generate 20 demerits, and demonstration of affection .  .  . anywhere in proximity to the dormitory would generate 50