Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

Women at Georgetown University

This guide is intended as a starting point for finding materials relating to the history of women at Georgetown University

Photographic Materials

The photographs described below are available for use in the Booth Family Center for Special Collections; request them via the Aeon request system. Please note that researchers will be given gloves when they are handling photographic materials

  • Photographs: Nursing School, GTA-000351. 1906-1972. Contains the earliest images of women students, including one of the first graduating class of the Nursing School in 1906 (1 box, 1.5 linear feet)

 

  • University Archives Photographic Collection (30 lf). Images within this collection are arranged by subject: campus; buildings; schools; events; student groups; and individuals (student, staff and faculty). Most of the images date from before 1970; the earliest, a portrait of T. Meredith Jenkins, S.J., dates to ca. 1849.  Most are black and white photographic prints

    No inventory is currently available. Images relating to women can be found in folders from the schools section (especially the Nursing, Foreign Service, and Languages and Linguistics Schools) as well as from the events and student groups sections, and the Individuals section (in which folders are filed alphabetically by name)

    Researchers should request images by subject/name and archives staff will pull folders for them to work with. Requests for images on very specific topics or for large numbers of folders should be placed two to three days ahead of a research visit, so that archives staff have sufficient time to locate and pull materials

 

  • University Photographer’s files (62 lf).  Images date from 1956-2004. Most are in the form of black and white negatives, some with accompanying contact sheets. Some photographic prints are also present. Included are shots of  campus buildings, events, and people (faculty, staff, students, and visitors) 

    A partial inventory is available for images taken between 1988 and 2004.  These can be requested using the box and folder numbers which can be found by clicking the folder description links in the Collection organization pane to the right of the inventory screen (you may have to scroll down to see the pane.) The folder descriptions display with a box and folder number in green font to the left side of the screen

    For pre-1988 images, researchers should submit requests by subject  or name and archives staff will pull folders for them

    Requests for images on very specific topics or for large numbers of folders should be placed two to three days ahead of a research visit, so that archives staff have sufficient time to locate and pull materials

 

  • Almost 500 photographs from the University Archives can be browsed or searched through DigitalGeorgetown. Originals of these images can be examined in the Booth Family Center for Special Collections on the 5th floor of Lauinger Library; request them via the Aeon request system

 

  • Photographs of women on campus can be found throughout student and University publications. Please see the Student Publications and University Publications pages of this guide for details

 

  • For details about photographs of Georgetown women athletes, please see the the Archival Resources page of this guide

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy