Periodicals (GUL)
FIFA World Cup
Encyclopedia of the FIFA World Cup by Every four years, the FIFA World Cup captures the global imagination like no other sporting spectacle. With a cumulative television audience of several billion people tuning in to the 2014 World Cup, and an estimated 700 million watching the finals—including more than 25 million in the United States alone—the World Cup is the world's most-watched sporting event. The Encyclopedia of the FIFA World Cup provides the most comprehensive and up-to-date information available on the history of this incomparable event. An introductory narrative explains the origins and historical progression of the World Cup, while a chronology traces the development of the World Cup since it was first held in 1930. Hundreds of entries cover the players and coaches who have participated in the World Cup and made the most memorable contributions to the event's history. Additional entries include officials, stadiums, overviews of each major country's performances, and more. A separate section provides detailed entries for each World Cup finals tournament. Appendixes contain details on every participant in World Cup history, as well as top performers, officials, and World Cup records.Including an indispensable bibliography on the key World Cup texts, Encyclopedia of the FIFA World Cup is an essential reference for soccer fans, players, and researchers alike.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780810887428Publication Date: 2015
Sports mega-events and urban legacies : the 2014 FIFA World Cup, Brazil by
1 concurrent user.
This book examines the urban legacy of the 2014 football World Cup in Brazil across the seven cities that hosted matches. The authors, all experts and natives of South America, analyze the context and impacts of hosting the World Cup for each of the host cities. The chapters use a range of background data and local knowledge and understanding to critically assess what benefits or disadvantages came along with bidding for and hosting World Cup final games, and importantly considers who the beneficiaries where and are. It further provides detailed empirical evidence that highlights a growing trend in sporting mega events: the overestimation of benefits and an underestimation of costs involved in hosting. The book adds to the critical literature that provides a counterweight to governments' aspirations to use mega events for the purposes of development and/or globalization, irrespective of the views of their citizens.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783319440125Publication Date: 2017
FIFA (Fédération Internationale de Football Association) by
Founded in 1904 by representatives of the sporting organisations of six European nations then expanding into the Americas, Asia and Africa FIFA has developed to become one of the most high profile and lucrative businesses in the global consumer and cultural industry. Recent years however have been characterised by a series of crises leaving the organisation open to critique and exposure, and creating a soap operatic narrative of increasing interest to the global media. In this critical new account of one of the world's most important sporting institutions, Professor Alan Tomlinson investigates the history of FIFA and the underlying political dynamics characterising its growth. The book explores the influence of the men who have led FIFA, the emergence of the World Cup as FIFA's exclusive product, FIFA's relationships with other federations and associations, the crises that have shaped its recent history, and the issues and challenges that are likely to shape its future. Particular focus is given to selected moments in the post- Havelange administration and the way in which FIFA, its current president Joseph Blatter and some key close colleagues have responded to and survived successive scandals. The book provides a foundation for understanding the growth and development of what is widely accepted as the world's most popular sport; sheds light on the shifting politics of nationalism in the post-colonial period; and reveals the opportunistic forms of personal aggrandizement shaping an increasingly media-influenced and globalizing world in which international sport was both a harbinger and an early reflection of these trends and forces. Fascinating and provocative, this is essential reading for anybody with an interest in soccer, sport and society, sports governance, or global organisations.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780415498302Publication Date: 2014
Sports mega-events and urban legacies: The 2014 FIFA World Cup by
Mega-events represent an important moment in the life of a city, providing a useful lens through which we may analyse their cultural, social, political and economic development. In the wake of the International Olympic Committee's (IOC's) concerns about 'gigantism' and wider public concerns about rising costs, it was imperative in the C21st to demonstrate the long term benefits that arose for the city and nations from hosting premier sporting events. 'London 2012' was the first to integrate the concept of legacy from the moment a bid to host the Olympic and Paralympic Games was being considered. London proposed an ambitious programme of urban renewal for East London. Subsequent host city bids have adopted the 'legacy narrative' and, as this book demonstrates, aligned this to major schemes of urban development and renewal. Bringing together scholars, practitioners and policy makers, this book focuses upon the legacies sought by cities that host major sports events. It analyses how governments, the IOC and others define and measure 'legacy'. It also focuses upon the challenges and opportunities facing future host cities of mega-events, looking at their aspirations and the intended impact upon their domestic and international development. It questions what the global shift in geographical location of mega-events means for sports development and the business of sport, what the attractions are for cities seeking to harness the hosting of a mega-event, and whether there may be longer term consequences for the bidding and hosting major sporting events in the wake of the widespread social unrest that accompanied the preparations in Brazil for hosting the FIFA World Cup (2014) and the summer Olympics (2016) and in Turkey, where there was significant opposition to bid for the 2020 summer Olympiad.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781472440174Publication Date: 2017
Soft Power and Sports
Routledge handbook of international sport business by
1 concurrent user.
Contemporary sport business is international. From global sport competitions and events, sponsorship deals and broadcasting rights to labor markets and lucrative flows of tourists, anybody working in sport business today has to have an international perspective. This book offers the broadest and most in-depth guide to the key themes in international sport business today, covering every core area from strategy and marketing to finance, media and the law. Including authors from more than twenty countries spanning the Americas, Europe, Asia, Africa and Australia, this handbook addresses the most important issues in the world of sport business from a uniquely global perspective. Each chapter examines a particular cross-section of business and sport, encompassing all levels from grassroots to professional and elite. Divided into seven major subject areas, it offers insights from experts on: International Sport Business Strategy Sport Marketing Sport Economics and Finance International Sport Law Sport Media and Communication Sport Tourism Sport Development. The Routledge Handbook of International Sport Business is an essential resource for any course on sport business, sport management or international business.
ISBN: 9781317486534Publication Date: 2018
Documenting the Beijing Olympics by Call Number: GV721.5 .D63 2011ISBN: 9780415575485Publication Date: 2011
The Beijing Olympics: Promoting China: Soft and hard power in global politics by
The Beijing 2008 Olympic ceremonies were spectacular performances and technological accomplishments by the People’s Republic of China. However, the audience in Beijing was only the most overt element of a global audience receiving the message of the Games. For this global audience, the Beijing performances were a harbinger of wider regional and international ambitions; a message of intent that pointed to a larger Chinese plan to a degree not seen since the Ming dynasty. New Chinese ambitions embrace both soft power and hard power. The actor in this political drama of international scope is the Chinese state and its political ambitions on the world stage. The Beijing Olympics can be seen as its opening act, and the audience as global. Rather than the kind of "morality" play that is typically used in China to educate the people in politics, this new production – a production on many levels – was one aimed at audiences all around the world, and one that was a calculated expression of realpolitik.
Call Number: GV722 2008 .B46 2011ISBN: 9780415853590Publication Date: 2011
Olympics
Understanding the Olympics by
1 concurrent user.
The Olympic Games is unquestionably the greatest sporting event in the world, with billions of viewers across the globe. How did the Olympics evolve into this multi-national phenomenon? How can the Olympics help us to understand the relationship between sport and society? What will be the impact and legacy of the 2016 Olympics in Rio? Now in a fully revised and updated new edition that places Rio 2016 in the foreground, Understanding the Olympicsanswers all these questions by exploring the social, cultural, political, historical and economic context of the Games. This book presents the latest research on the Olympics, including new material on legacy, sustainability and corruption, and introduces the reader to all of the key themes of contemporary Olympic Studies including: the history of the Olympics Olympic politics access and equity the Olympics and the media festival and spectacle the Olympic economy urban development Olympic futures. The most up-to-date and authoritative introduction to the Olympic Games, this book contains a full Olympic history timeline as well as illustrations, information boxes and 'Olympic Stories' in every chapter. Understanding the Olympicsis essential reading for anybody with an interest in the Olympics or the wider relationship between sport and society.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138890251Publication Date: 2016
Activism and the Olympics : Dissent at the games in Vancouver and London by
The Olympics have developed into the world's premier sporting event. They are simultaneously a competitive exhibition and a grand display of cooperation that bring together global cultures on ski slopes, shooting ranges, swimming pools, and track ovals. Given their scale in the modern era, the Games are a useful window for better comprehending larger cultural, social, and historical processes, argues Jules Boykoff, an academic social scientist and a former Olympic athlete.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780813562032Publication Date: 2014
Managing the Olympics by
1 concurrent user.
The Olympic Games are the world's most complex and challenging sport mega-event to organize. Managing the Olympics is the first ever attempt to bring together the world's leading Olympic management researchers in one book and draws on the latest research into the management challenges faced by the organizers and key stakeholders of the Games.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780230389588Publication Date: 2013
Olympic dreams : China and sports, 1895-2008 by
Already the world has seen the political, economic, and cultural significance of hosting the 2008 Olympics in Beijing--in policies instituted and altered, positions softened, projects undertaken. But will the Olympics make a lasting difference? This book approaches questions about the nature and future of China through the lens of sports--particularly as sports finds its utmost international expression in the Olympics.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780674045422Publication Date: 2008
Olympic cities: City agendas, planning and the world's games, 1896 - 2020 by
The first edition of Olympic Cities, published in 2007, provided a pioneering overview of the changing relationship between cities and the modern Olympic Games. This substantially revised and enlarged third edition builds on the success of its predecessors. The first of its three parts provides overviews of the urban legacy of the four component Olympic festivals: the Summer Games; Winter Games; Cultural Olympiads; and the Paralympics. The second part comprisessystematic surveys of seven key aspects of activity involved in staging the Olympics: finance; place promotion; the creation of Olympic Villages; security; urban regeneration; tourism; and transport. The final part consists of nine chronologically arranged portraits of host cities, from 1936 to 2020, with particular emphasis on the six Summer Olympic and Paralympic Games of the twenty-first century. As controversy over the growing size and expense of the Olympics, with associated issues of accountability and legacy, continues unabated, this book's incisive and timely assessment of the Games' development and the complex agendas that host cities attach to the event will be essential reading for a wide audience. This will include not just urban and sports historians, urban geographers, event managers and planners, but also anyone with an interest in the staging of mega-events and concerned with building a better understanding of the relationship between cities, sport and culture.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138832671Publication Date: 2016
No Boston Olympics: How and why smart cities are passing on the torch by
In 2013 and 2014, some of Massachusetts’ wealthiest and most powerful individuals hatched an audacious plan to bring the 2024 Summer Olympics to Boston. Like their counterparts in cities around the world, Boston’s Olympic boosters promised political leaders, taxpayers, and the media that the Games would deliver incalculable benefits and require little financial support from the public. Yet these advocates refused to share the details of their bid and only grudgingly admitted, when pressed, that their plan called for billions of dollars in construction of unneeded venues. To win the bid, the public would have to guarantee taxpayer funds to cover cost overruns, which have plagued all modern Olympic Games. The United States Olympic Committee (USOC) chose Boston 2024’s bid over that of other American cities in January 2015—and for a time it seemed inevitable that the International Olympic Committee (IOC) would award the Games to Boston 2024. No Boston Olympics is the story of how an ad hoc, underfunded group of diverse and engaged citizens joined together to challenge and ultimately derail Boston’s boosters, the USOC, and the IOC. Chris Dempsey was cochair of No Boston Olympics, the group that first voiced skepticism, demanded accountability, and catalyzed dissent. Andrew Zimbalist is a world expert on the economics of sports, and the leading researcher on the hidden costs of hosting mega-events such as the Olympics and the World Cup. Together, they tell Boston’s story, while providing a blueprint for citizens who seek to challenge costly, wasteful, disruptive, and risky Olympic bids in their own cities.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781512600704Publication Date: 2017
Other Featured eBooks
Circus maximus by
An Economist Best Economic Book of 2015 An updated and expanded analysis of the economic tensions behind the Olympics and the World Cup games. Andrew Zimbalist looks beyond the headlines of two of the world’s most beloved sporting events: the Olympics and the World Cup. In the updated and expanded edition of his bestselling book, Circus Maximus: The Economic Gamble Behind Hosting the Olympics and the World Cup, Zimbalist tackles the bogus claim that cities chosen to host these high-profile sporting events experience an economic windfall. In this new edition he takes aim at the outrageous FIFA scandal, Boston’s bid for the 2024 summer Olympics, and the criticism surrounding the 2015 Women's World Cup. Circus Maximus focuses on major cities, like London and Barcelona, that have previously hosted these sporting events, to provide context for cities like Tokyo and Rio de Janerio, which are currently bearing the weight of exploding expenses, corruption, and protests. Zimbalist offers a sobering and candid look at the Olympics and the World Cup from outside the echo chamber.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780815727279Publication Date: 2016
Global sport management: Contemporary issues and inquiries by
3 concurrent users.
The international nature of the sport industry presents many management challenges and opportunities for sport organizations. This book brings together cutting-edge research from leading sport management scholars around the world, surveying a wide range of topics and issues facing the sport industry today. It represents an essential platform for the international exchange of ideas, best practice and research in sport management studies. The globalisation of the sport industry has brought increased complexity to organisations' operations in terms of regulation, competition and multiculturalism. Drawing on a wealth of original research from fifteen countries, this book addresses a variety of global, regional, national and community issues that are central to successful sport management. Combining both qualitative and quantitative studies, it explores key themes, such as managing resources and organisational change, marketing and promotion, law and regulation, sport-for-development and research protocols. Global Sport Management Studies: Contemporary issues and inquiriesis essential reading for all students and scholars of sport management, sport business and sport marketing, as well as for any professional working in the sport and leisure industries.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138229617Publication Date: 2017
Critical issues in global sport management by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138911239Publication Date: 2016
The global economics of sport by
1 concurrent user.
Sport has become a global business. There is no corner of the Earth that isn't reached by coverage of global sporting mega-events such as the Olympics or the World Cup, events managed by international governing bodies such as the IOC and FIFA that operate like major international businesses. Companies such as Nike now design, produce, distribute and market their products across every continent, while an increasingly important part of every country's sport market is now international in terms of its influences and opportunities. This book is the first to examine the economics of contemporary sport using the global market as the primary unit of analysis. Starting with a survey of the changing nature of the sports market over the last hundred years, the book explores the difficulties of measuring the true scale and impact of the global sports economy, employing a wealth of empirical data to define and analyze the sports market and all its sub-sectors. In doing so, the book draws on case studies from the UK, Europe, North America and beyond. This book is essential reading for any student or professional with an interest in the economics of sport.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780415586191Publication Date: 2012
Mega-events and globalization by
3 concurrent users.
Since the turn of the twenty first century, there has been a trend for urban "mega events" to be awarded to cities and nations in the East and Global South. Such events have been viewed as economic stimulant as well as opportunities to promote national identity, gain greater international recognition and exercise a form of 'soft power.' However, there has also been on-going controversy about the value, impact and legacy of global mega events in these cities and nations. This book provides a critical examination of the ambition for spectacle that has emerged across the East and Global South. The chapters explore the theoretical and conceptual issues associated with mega-events and new forms of globalization, from the critical political economy of mega-events in a changing world order to the contested social and economic legacies of mega-events and the widespread opposition that increasingly accompanies these events. The book also explores questions of urban development and governance, the role of new communications technologies in global economic expansion, the high security State, and the growing global influence of international non-governmental organizations. This book offers a rich collection of original theoretical contributions and global case studies from leading international scholars from the social sciences and humanities. It offers a fresh and unique interdisciplinary perspective that synthesizes cutting edge research on mega-events and urban spectacles while simultaneously contributing to a broader understanding of the dynamics of global capitalism and international political power in the early twenty first century.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138805613Publication Date: 2016
Sports business management: Decision making around the globe by
3 concurrent users. Sports Business Management will equip students with a comprehensive understanding of the sport industry. With a focus on management, strategy, marketing, and finance, the decision-making approach of the book emphasizes key concepts while translating them into practice. Foster, O'Reilly, and Dávila present a set of modular chapters supported with plenty of examples, mini-cases, and exercises to help students apply the decision-making approach to real-world situations. Covering an international array of sports and organizations - including the Olympic Games, FIFA World Cup, US Major League Baseball, and more - the book also covers unique topics such as diversity in sport, the impact of technology, and social media. Rounding this out, the book provides around 50 Harvard/Stanford cases, along with case notes for instructors. This is an ideal textbook for upper-level undergraduate and graduate students of sports business and management, fully supported by a companion website featuring PowerPoint slides, test questions, teaching notes, and other tools for instructors.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138919532Publication Date: 2016
Routledge handbook of sport and politics by
1 concurrent user.
Sport is frequently considered to be an aspect of popular culture that is, or should be, untainted by the political. However, there is a broad consensus among academics that sport is often at the heart of the political and the political is often central to sport. From the 1936 Olympic Games in Nazi Germany to the civil unrest that preceded the 2014 World Cup in Brazil, sport and politics have remained symbiotic bedfellows. The Routledge Handbook of Sport and Politicsgoes further than any other book in surveying the complex, embedded relationships between sport and politics. With sections addressing ideologies, nation and statehood, corporate politics, political activism, social justice, and the politics of sports events, it introduces the conceptual foundations that underpin our understanding of the sport-politics nexus and examines emergent issues in this field of study. Including in-depth case studies from North America, South America, Europe, the Middle East, Africa and Asia, this is an essential reference for anybody with an interest in the social scientific study of sport.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138792548Publication Date: 2016
Global corruption report: Sport by
Sport is a global phenomenon engaging billions of people and generating annual revenues of more than US$ 145 billion. Problems in the governance of sports organisations, fixing of matches and staging of major sporting events have spurred action on many fronts. Yet attempts to stop corruption in sport are still at an early stage. The Global Corruption Report (GCR) on sport is the most comprehensive analysis of sports corruption to date. It consists of more than 60 contributions from leading experts in the fields of corruption and sport, from sports organisations, governments, multilateral institutions, sponsors, athletes, supporters, academia and the wider anti-corruption movement. This GCR provides essential analysis for understanding the corruption risks in sport, focusing on sports governance, the business of sport, planning of major events, and match-fixing. It highlights the significant work that has already been done and presents new approaches to strengthening integrity in sport. In addition to measuring transparency and accountability, the GCR gives priority to participation, from sponsors to athletes to supporters an essential to restoring trust in sport.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138905924Publication Date: 2016
Industry
