INAF 1010: Introduction to Critical Geography

Social Explorer provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change. Users can create a free account in order to save, share, and collaborate on maps and projects. In addition to its comprehensive data resources, Social Explorer offers features and tools to meet the needs of demography experts and novices alike. From research libraries to classrooms to government agencies to corporations to the front page of the New York Times, Social Explorer helps the public engage with society and science.

Collection of articles from over 180 social science journals. Disciplines covered include: anthropology, area studies, community health and medical care, economics, family studies, gender studies, geography, gerontology, international relations, law, minority studies, planning and public administration, policy sciences, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, urban studies and more.

Requires initial setup. Visit Georgetown's ArcGIS Online guide for instructions.
ArcGIS Online is a cloud-based mapping and analysis solution. Use it to make maps, analyze data, and to share and collaborate. Get access to workflow-specific apps, maps and data from around the globe, and tools for being mobile in the field.

EVGeoCloud is a web-based platform that provides online access to catalogs of maps and geospatial data. Available datasets include:
--De Agostini WING
--Georgetown-Soviet City Plans
--ML Infomap India Dataset
--ML Infomap India- June 2014 Update Natural Earth II Raster
--Natural Earth- Cultural
--Natural Earth Physical

Current Georgetown faculty and students must sign up for a Replica account using their Georgetown.edu email address. Click on the "Sign Up" tab to create an account.

Replica is a cutting-edge platform that helps users access and visualize data about mobility, land use, and economic activity related to specific geographies. As such, this database is a tool of choice for professionals conducting research on the built-in environment, especially as issues of privacy and geo-located data enter into the professional practice of urban site analysis.

Primary source documents on 15 commodities: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, wine and spirits. Most documents are from the 1700s to mid-20th century, with some documents earlier or later.

Environmental Issues Online brings together multimedia materials (text, archival primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more. This mixed media collection spans over 173 hours of video and 132,000 pages of digital material.

A research and learning database sharing documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide. The collection is growing to include 75,000 pages of text and 150 hours of video that give voice to the countless victims of human rights crimes in the 20th and early 21st centuries.

African Diaspora, 1860-Present allows scholars to discover the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent. With a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France, the collection contains primary source documents, including personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera.

Acquired through a grant from the Resources Legacy Fund to honor Artemis G. Kirk, University Librarian Emeritus, for the library collections in the field of African-American, African and History of Slavery Studies.