Literature Liaison & Reference Librarian
Tracing the Conversation
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. For on campus or GU-authenticated users, results contain links to electronic full text from GU-subscribed content, especially journal articles. (If off campus, click on Settings and then on Library Links. Type Georgetown in the search box.)
- Research RabbitAn AI-powered tool for searching for papers and authors, monitoring new literature, visualizing research landscapes, and collaborating with colleagues.
Additional AI for Research
- ElicitAn AI research assistant that helps identify and summarize scholarly papers. Requires a free account to use.
Resources for Accessing Full Text
When you are using non-library tools (e.g., Google Scholar and AI tools) to find sources, you may run into things that are behind paywalls. Here are a few tricks and tools for accessing the full text for free:
Option 1: To more easily connect to full text and requesting options like Interlibrary Loan, you can install the Lean Library browser plug-in to connect you to the library's resources when you're out on the web:
- Lean Library This link opens in a new window The Lean Library browser extension makes it easy to access academic articles, e-books and databases licensed by Georgetown University Library wherever you are and whenever you need them. If the content you’d like to use doesn’t seem accessible, Lean Library will automatically check for open access versions of the article or take you directly to interlibrary loan. Install it on Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Edge, or Opera browsers in just a few clicks.
Option 2: When you find a citation, you can use HoyaSearch to see if we already have access to the source:
- HoyaSearch This link opens in a new window HoyaSearch is the GU Library's discovery layer and catalog. HoyaSearch data comes from Georgetown and WRLC Consortium holdings, many of the Georgetown databases, and a variety of other resources. You can find books, journal and newspaper articles, encyclopedias, images and media, and primary sources in HoyaSearch.
Option 3: If the first two options left you empty handed, then you can request it using Interlibrary Loan. All you have to do is submit a request and we'll get the source for you for free:
- Interlibrary Loan Use to request materials not already available through Georgetown or the consortium. Click here for more information.
