Get Answers
Full-Text Plays
- Media Collection at GU LibraryUse the Media Finder to locate film or video available through the Library.
- Black Drama: Third Edition This link opens in a new windowBlack Drama, now in its expanded third edition, contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Full text is available for titles marked with a green arrow.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new windowFeatures page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700. From the first book printed in English through to the ages of Spenser, Shakespeare and of the English Civil War, EEBO's content draws on authoritative and respected short-title catalogues of the period and features a substantial number of text transcriptions.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new windowDigital reproductions of every page of significant English- and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas and elsewhere. Searches the full text of books, pamphlets, essays, and other non-periodical materials including the complete works of major 18th-century writers.
- Google Books This link opens in a new windowPortal to Google's massive library digitization project. Depending on copyright restrictions, you may either see full text or limited parts of books (tables of contents, book covers, sample chapters, etc.).
- HathiTrust This link opens in a new windowHathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new windowSearchable library of more than 350,000 full-text works of English and American poetry, drama, and fiction with complementary criticism, reference resources and websites. Full text of plays included are primarily pre-1900.
- Best Plays Theater YearbookAnnually provides statistics and other information on the New York theater season and scenes from the top ten plays. Print volumes are shelved on the fifth floor of Lauinger: PN 2266 .A2 B4 (1894-1985, minus some years), PN 6112 .B 4524 (1999-2000), and PN 6110.7 .B47 (2000-2008).
- Theatre in Context This link opens in a new windowO’Dell’s Annals of the New York Stage, the Oxford University Press Companion series, and Greenwood’s American Theatre Companies series are just a few of the many in-copyright sources included in the Theatre in Context Collection. Placed alongside thousands of playbills, posters, photographs, and related theatrical ephemera, users will be able to paint a more comprehensive picture of the life and evolution of dramatic works.
Playbills
- Internet Broadway DatabaseProvides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theater until today. Details include pertinent people involved, as well as interesting facts and production statistics. Also offers historical information about theaters and various statistics and fun facts.
- Playbill VaultAn online database of Broadway theater production information from 1930 to present, created and operated by Playbill. Provides Playbill cover images; Broadway casts; who’s who biographies; awards; production credits, photos and videos; actor head shots; and box office data.
- Internet Off-Broadway Database (Lortel Archives)Also known as the Lortel Archives, includes information about off-Broadway productions going back to 1958.
Indexes to Plays
- Doollee.comOnline guide to playwrights and plays, written, adapted or translated since 1956. Links to publisher information. Requires a subscription.
- Index to Plays in PeriodicalsLAU Ref. Z 5781 .K43 1990
- Inter-PlayIndex created by Portland State University. It is easily searchable by author and/or title and cites the Library of Congress call numbers of sources for the texts of plays.
- New Play Exchange"The New Play Exchange is a streamlined script discovery and recommendation engine for the new play sector. NNPN is an alliance of non-profit theaters dedicated to the development, production, and continued life of new plays." Requires a subscription.
