Get Answers
Books
- HoyaSearchFind books or articles that give stage histories or reviews by using these strategies in HoyaSearch:
Search for "stage history" plus the title of your play. Search for reviews plus theat* (gets either spelling of theater) plus the city name .
Broadway Plays and Musicals: Descriptions and Essential Facts of More than 14,000 Shows Through 2007Call Number: Ref. PN 2277 .N5 H573 2009
Archival Collections
- Federal Theatre Project Collection (American Memory - Library of Congress)Materials relating to the Federal Theatre Project, 1935-1939, including images of stage and costume designs, photographs, posters, scripts, and more.
Performance History Resources
- Archive of Performances of Greek and Roman Drama (APGRD)The APGRD is a research project based in the Classics Centre at the University of Oxford. It investigates the performance of ancient texts in any medium and any period, from Greek tragedy to Roman epic, from stage to screen, from antiquity to the present day.
- Internet Broadway DatabaseProvides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theater until today. Details include pertinent people involved, as well as interesting facts and production statistics. Also offers historical information about theaters and various statistics and fun facts.
- Internet Off-Broadway Database (Lortel Archives)Also known as the Lortel Archives, includes information about off-Broadway productions going back to 1958.
- Best Plays Theater YearbookAnnually provides statistics and other information on the New York theater season and scenes from the top ten plays. Print volumes are shelved on the fifth floor of Lauinger: PN 2266 .A2 B4 (1894-1985, minus some years), PN 6112 .B 4524 (1999-2000), and PN 6110.7 .B47 (2000-2008).
- International Dictionary of TheaterContains entries for over 620 plays; provides the date of first production (sometimes includes cast information) and provides citations to critical essays for each play. Ref Stacks PN2035 .I49 1992
- Internet Theatre DatabaseAims to "include all realms of professional theatre as well as document the 'living' history of theatre." Depends mostly on user contributions.
- Theatre in Context This link opens in a new windowO’Dell’s Annals of the New York Stage, the Oxford University Press Companion series, and Greenwood’s American Theatre Companies series are just a few of the many in-copyright sources included in the Theatre in Context Collection. Placed alongside thousands of playbills, posters, photographs, and related theatrical ephemera, users will be able to paint a more comprehensive picture of the life and evolution of dramatic works.
