Film & Media Studies

Heavy on the advertising, but includes downloads of many free movie and TV scripts.

A movie script search engine. Indexes more than 9,000 films rom 300+ sites. Entries indicate draft version if known, whether it is a PDF, and whether the script is not free (marked with a dollar sign ($)).

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, which has been acquiring film material since 1929, holds more than 140,000 film and video assets relating to some 70,000 individual titles.

Lantern is the search platform for the collections of the Media History Digital Library, an open access initiative led by Eric Hoyt and the Wisconsin Center for Film and Theater Research. The Media History Digital Library (MHDL) digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. Now searching 2,873,202 pages of digitized books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.

Houses artifacts from every stage of producing, promoting, and exhibiting motion pictures, television, and digital media. Holdings include licensed merchandise, technical apparatus, still photographs, production design materials, costumes, fan magazines, publicity materials, and video and computer games.

Representing more than 35,000 items, Margaret Herrick Library Digital Collections presents a curated selection of materials from the library's extensive holdings on motion picture history. Items include correspondence, photographs, sheet music, scrapbooks, lobby cards, movie ephemera, books, film magazines and industry publications.

Collection of papers that document the creation and history of the infamous Hollywood Production Code and the Catholic Church's Legion of Decency.

The most complete runs extant of Quigley publications: Motion Picture Herald (1915-1972), Motion Picture Daily (1930-1972), International Motion Picture (Television) Almanac (1930 to date), and Fame (1937-1970).

The photo "morgue" of Quigley Publications, primarily publicity photos from 1906 to 1972. Contact Special Collections to browse this collection.

The papers of the long-time (1931-1949) editor of Motion Picture Herald, covering virtually all aspects of the American motion picture industry from its beginnings to 1950.

Armat was the inventor of the motion picture projector. The collection includes letters to Thomas Edison and Orville Wright.

Several hundred taped and transcribed interviews dealing with the Hollywood film industry's relations with the armed services, covering the period from 1945 to the late 1970s.