Your Librarian
Sharon Clayton
She/Her/They
Contact:
Lauinger Library
For research consultations or reference questions, please email me.
For research consultations or reference questions, please email me.
202-687-7467
Get Answers
Literature Reviews
- Lecture Notes in Mathematics. 1964-Reports new developments in mathematical research and teaching in a quick and informal manner. Types of material considered for publication include research monographs, lectures on a new field, seminars, and reports of meetings.
Location: Search HoyaSearch for individual title details.
Overviews, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias
- Wiley StatsRef: Statistics Reference Online This link opens in a new windowWiley StatsRef: Statistics Reference Online is a comprehensive online reference source that covers the fundamentals and applications of statistics in all fields where it is widely used. The database is aimed at advanced undergrads and graduate students, statistics faculty, and experienced researchers entering a new part of the field for the first time.
- Wolfram MathWorldA free service to the world's mathematics communities. Heavily based on Mathematica and updated daily.
The Princeton Companion to MathematicsCall Number: Online and Sci QA 11.2 .P745 2008
CRC Concise Encyclopedia of MathematicsCall Number: Sci Ref. QA 5 .W45 2003
Encyclopedia of MathematicsCall Number: Sci Ref. QA 5 .T34 2005
Dictionary of mathematics English-Spanish, Spanish-English = Diccionario de Matemáticas : Inglés-Castellano, Castellano-InglésCall Number: OnlineISBN: 09765947149780976594710
The Penguin Dictionary of Mathematics by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0141030232Publication Date: 2008-12-30
Handbooks
- NIST Digital Library of Mathematical FunctionsOnline resource of special functions and their applications, intended to serve as a 21st-century successor or replacement to Handbook of Mathematical Functions with Formulas, Graphs, and Mathematical Tables.
Mathematical Handbook of Formulas and Tables (a Schaum's Outline)Call Number: Sci Ref. QA 41 .S32 2018More than 2,400 fully solved problems, examples, and practice exercises. Formulas and tables for elementary to advanced topics, with explanations.
Mathematics Handbook for Science and EngineeringCall Number: Sci Ref. QA 41 .R34 2004Previously called the Beta Mathematics Handbook, which had a more descriptive subtitle: concepts, theorems, methods, algorithms, formulas, graphs, tables. A good place to check for a wide variety of information, from the volume of an icosahedron to random number generators.
Problem Sets
- Problem Books in MathematicsCall Number: Varies. Follow link to HoyaSearch.A series of mathematics and statistics problems published by Springer.
- A Primer for Mathematics CompetitionsCall Number: OnlineIncludes exercises, illustrations, hints, and solutions. Aimed at students of mathematics looking for an introduction to problem solving in mathematics, as well as Mathematical Olympiad competitors and other recreational mathematicians.
- Mathematical OlympiadsCall Number: Varies. Follow link to HoyaSearch.
