Your Librarian
Sharon Clayton
She/Her/They
Contact:
Lauinger Library
For research consultations or reference questions, please email me.
For research consultations or reference questions, please email me.
202-687-7467
Get Answers
HoyaSearch: Find Journals
All Mathematics & Statistics Databases
To view all mathematics & statistics databases, please go to A-Z Databases on the library's website.
Dissertations & Theses
-
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowProvides the electronic copies of PhD, MS, & MA dissertations - primarily from the US, with some coverage of Europe.
Includes most Georgetown Univ. Dissertations
-
DigitalGeorgetown Institutional RepositoryProvides access to graduate theses and dissertations from Georgetown that are included in DigitalGeorgetown.
What Is a Database?
The Library databases listed here are collections of journal articles searchable by author, title, keywords, subject indexing terms, and sometimes every word in the articles. They may contain or link to the full text of the articles, or they may only contain abstracts of the articles.
TIP: Many times a keyword search will give sufficient results. If not, look at a few relevant article titles, abstracts, and keywords or descriptors. They often suggest other good words to use in your search. Also look for "Find more like this" options in the database (although not all databases offer this).
Math & Stats Databases - A more complete list
-
MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowSearchable database of reviews, abstracts, and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. The electronic version of Mathematical Reviews (1940- ), MathSciNet uses the Mathematics Subject Classification to categorize materials by subject.
-
AMS Journals This link opens in a new windowNote: Access to all content on this platform is incomplete. Please reference HoyaSearch or the Journal Finder for the library's complete holdings.Full-text of the journals: Bulletin of the American Mathematical Society, Conformal Geometry and Dynamics, Electronic Research Announcements, Journal of the American Mathematical Society, Mathematics of Computation, Proceedings of the American Mathematical Society, Representation Theory, Transactions of the American Mathematical Society. MathSciNet is partnering with the AMS journals program providing links to article reviews when they become available.
-
SIAM Journals This link opens in a new windowElectronic edition of Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) journals. Published on an accelerated article-by-article basis. They are the definitive editions for SIAM journals. Electronic articles in SIAM's nine research journals are now published in final form months, and in some cases years, in advance of their print counterparts.
-
arXiv.org This link opens in a new windowAn archive for electronic preprints of scientific papers in the fields of mathematics, physics, astronomy, computer science, quantitative biology, statistics, and quantitative finance.
-
Wiley StatsRef: Statistics Reference Online This link opens in a new windowWiley StatsRef: Statistics Reference Online is a comprehensive online reference source that covers the fundamentals and applications of statistics in all fields where it is widely used. The database is aimed at advanced undergrads and graduate students, statistics faculty, and experienced researchers entering a new part of the field for the first time.
-
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowProvides access to citations and full-text content of books, journal articles, reports, dissertations, and conference proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
-
Zentralblatt MATH (zbMATH) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive and longest running (1826- ) abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics (natural sciences, computer science, economics, engineering, history and philosophy of math, university math education). Similar to MathSciNet, it uses the Mathematics Subject Classification. To search exhaustively for a particular math topic, search both zbMATH and MathSciNet.
General Multidisciplinary Databases
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
-
General Science Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from more than 100 journals and magazines back to 1995, with citations back to 1984. Covers all science-related topics.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowNote: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields. -
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of Elsevier journal articles mainly in science and medicine, with some coverage of social sciences and humanities, particularly business, economics and psychology. The full text of most journals is available to Georgetown users. You can search across all journals or browse/search in an individual journal.
Databases from Other Disciplines - Relevant to Math & Stats
Math & Chemistry
-
SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new windowScifinder is good for topics that involve Math & Chemistry
NOTE: SciFinderⁿ requires that users have an individual, free account on the site. To register, please visit the SciFinder registration page.
Math & Physics
-
Inspec This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic database that provides abstracts and indexing to a wide variety of technical and scientific papers across numerous disciplines including engineering, physics, communications, computing, manufacturing, production, and more. Click any links within this database to access Inspec Analytics.
