Latin American Studies

Primary index to materials for research in non-U.S./non-Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Covers world history from 1450 to the present.

Coverage extends from the 15th to 20th century, providing information about the indigenous peoples of the region, the Conquest (la Conquista), colonial rule, religion, struggles for independence, and political, economic, and social progress and issues in newly independent nations. The archive is made up of more than 1.3 million pages of historical material across 33 archival collections from the United States and Europe. The historical collections provide original manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, ephemera, and more. Formerly known as World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean.

Annotated bibliography of scholarship in Latin American Studies and related topics.

Indexes articles from more than 600 social science and humanities journals. Includes works published throughout the world which relate to Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Most articles are in Spanish or Portuguese, though some English language periodicals are indexed.

A selective annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America. Works reviewed include books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers in the social sciences and the humanities.