Latin American Studies and Iberian Languages Liaison & Reference Librarian
Get Answers
Can't find it?
Are you looking for a book or article that is unavailable at Georgetown and the Consortium? Use Interlibrary loan to request the item. Lauinger Library will obtain a book or scanned article for you.Quick Tips
- Use quotes when your concept has more than one word (i.e. “military coup”)
- Use synonyms and play around with keywords to create broader and narrower searches (i.e. women’s roles might be feminism)
- Search in English and target language (i.e. terrorism or terrorismo)
- Use the filters on the left side of the database to limit format (scholarly article, news, etc.), date of publication, language, and more
- Refer to GU’s tips on using Google Scholar
Latin American Content
Latin American Studies is included in many of the essential discipline-specific databases. There are also databases devoted strictly to Latin American and Caribbean content:- HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) This link opens in a new window
- Latin America & Iberia Database This link opens in a new window
- Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new window
- HLAS Online (Handbook of Latin American Studies) This link opens in a new window
- Redalyc (UAEM)Latin American online journals in humanities, social sciences, and sciences. In Spanish, Portuguese, or English.
- Scientific Electronic Library Online (SciELO)An electronic library covering a selected collection of Brazilian scientific journals, including journals in the social sciences.
- Central American JournalsContains a growing number of online journals published in Central America.
- Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales de Ciencias Sociales de América Latina CLACSO This link opens in a new windowThe Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales is the online publications portal of CLACSO (Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales) and related research centers throughout Latin America. Texts include books, congress papers, theses, documents and journals.
General Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowNote: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields. - Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Full text is available for titles marked with a green arrow.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. For on campus or GU-authenticated users, results contain links to electronic full text from GU-subscribed content, especially journal articles. (If off campus, click on Settings and then on Library Links. Type Georgetown in the search box.)
- HoyaSearch This link opens in a new windowHoyaSearch is the GU Library's discovery layer and catalog. HoyaSearch data comes from Georgetown and WRLC Consortium holdings, many of the Georgetown databases, and a variety of other resources. You can find books, journal and newspaper articles, encyclopedias, images and media, and primary sources in HoyaSearch.
Economics
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts worldwide economic literature. Has article citations from over 400 major economic journals since 1972. Includes indexing of some book reviews, dissertations and working papers.
History
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowPrimary index to materials for research in non-U.S./non-Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Covers world history from 1450 to the present.
Literature and Cultural Studies
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowProvides access to worldwide scholarly research in literature (including drama), language, linguistics, folklore, film, radio, television, and theater, representing all national literatures. Does not include book reviews.
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text literary content for researching authors and their works, literary movements, and genres. Search to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews. Includes the Literature Resource Center and Scribner Writers.
Political Science and International Relations
- ProQuest Political Science Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest Political Science covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.
- International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowLimited to 4 simultaneous users.
An abstract of periodical articles on political science, government, international relations, and area studies. Indexes more than 1,000 international journals. The printed version (1951-1997) is available. - CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new windowConference proceedings and working papers from participating institutes around the world. Includes the full text of books and book summaries, journal abstracts, links to websites and a calendar of conferences and seminars.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowA subject guide to journals, books, pamphlets, and government publications relating to economics, social conditions, and international relations.
- Jane's News Centre This link opens in a new windowTo access, enter your Georgetown email in the login box. You will be taken to the standard Georgetown NetID login screen to complete authentication.News and analysis on state and international security, terrorism and insurgency, proliferation, resource security, and organized crime. Includes articles from Jane's publications Country Risk Daily Report, Intelligence Weekly, Terrorism and Insurgency Monitor, Intelligence Review, and more.
Public Policy
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowIndexes otherwise hard to obtain research and publications from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Each item includes an abstract and, where available, access to the full-text of the report and/or the homepages and electronic mail addresses of the authoring institution.
- Policy Commons This link opens in a new windowPolicy Commons is a one-stop community platform for research from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. This growing database is the world’s largest directory of policy organizations representing nearly 24,000 organizations and over 3 million publications.
Searching by Journal Title
You can search by journal title in HoyaSearch. Here are some top journals in Latin American Studies: