Image databases
- Angelica: Art and Culture This link opens in a new windowMore than 90,000 textual descriptions and 8,000 digital images of thousands of art slides in the collection of the department of Art, Music and Theater. Database will eventually include other humanities-based images found in the University community (e.g., archaeology slides in the Classics department collection). The database is for the exclusive educational use only of faculty and students at Georgetown University. A NetID is required for access. Materials, text and image are copyrighted.
- Art ResourceSearchable archive of images from major museums; emphasis is on twentieth century fine art.
- JSTOR Images Search This link opens in a new windowComprehensive digital library containing images of artworks, photographs, architecture, decorative arts, rare books, and items from popular culture. Includes images from the Artstor collection, as well as other collections.
- Bridgeman Images This link opens in a new windowThis image archive provides over 100,000 images of fine and decorative art; scope is all periods, movements, styles, and themes in the history of art. Artworks from public and private collections are represented.
- National Gallery of Art ImagesNGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. On this website you can search, browse, share, and download images. More than 20,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use.
Film Studies Resources
Stream movies from these paid databases as well as some free websites below:- Kanopy Film & Media This link opens in a new windowThis curated collection of streaming films from Kanopy's "Film & Media Collection" includes documentaries, foreign films, and many classic movies. Distributors include Kino Lorber, First Run Features, and the Media Education Foundation. Films are streamed through a "Netflix-like" website and can be watched anywhere, anytime, in any setting.
- Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new windowStreaming video of 1,000 documentaries on race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. From Alexander Street Press.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window20,000 streaming documentaries, educational films, and instructional videos from the Films Media Group. Collections include Humanities & Social Sciences and Archival Films & Newsreels.
- World History in Video This link opens in a new windowWorld history in video is an online collection of streaming video that gives users access to critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide. Upon completion the collection will include more than 1750 documentaries that offer a survey of human history from the earliest civilizations to the fall of the Berlin Wall. World history in video covers Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.
- Open Video ProjectContains documentary, educational, ephemeral, historical and other types of video.
- UbuWeb: Film & VideoSite for experimental and avant garde film and video
Use the Media Finder below to search for DVDs and CDs. You can also browse the DVDs on the second floor of the library, or use these online tools to browse: Browse by Genre and Browse by Language- Media Finder (library catalog)Use the Media Finder to identify DVDs and CDs held at the library
Use these websites to find film studies resources:- Cinematografo.itNews and information on Italian film. Note the databases Cinedatabase and Cineconomy on the upper right; they are excellent resources on the Italian film industry.
Search in these databases. You can find additional databases and journal titles on the Film and Media Studies Research Guide.- Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete offers full text and indexing for journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields. This link searches both Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts.
- Communication & Media Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of communication and media.
To search only the Communication and Media Studies collection, go to the "Search Within" section and select "Communication and Media Studies" listed under "Social Sciences & Humanities." - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowProvides access to worldwide scholarly research in literature (including drama), language, linguistics, folklore, film, radio, television, and theater, representing all national literatures. Does not include book reviews.
Finding Films in HoyaSearch
Follow these steps to find films owned by the Library.
- Use Advanced Search in HoyaSearch.
- Search GU Only.
- Limit the Content Type to Video/Film.
- Search for a particular film title, director, or subject.
