Latin American Studies and Iberian Languages Liaison & Reference Librarian
Get Answers
Can't find it?
Are you looking for a book or article that is unavailable at Georgetown and the Consortium? Use Interlibrary loan to request the item. Lauinger Library will obtain a book or scanned article for you.Quick Tips
- Use quotes when your concept has more than one word (i.e. “military coup”)
- Use synonyms and play around with keywords to create broader and narrower searches (i.e. women’s roles might be feminism)
- Search in English and target language (i.e. terrorism or terrorismo)
- Use the filters on the left side of the database to limit format (scholarly article, news, etc.), date of publication, language, and more
- Refer to GU’s tips on using Google Scholar
Generalist databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- HoyaSearch This link opens in a new windowHoyaSearch is the GU Library's discovery layer and catalog. HoyaSearch data comes from Georgetown and WRLC Consortium holdings, many of the Georgetown databases, and a variety of other resources. You can find books, journal and newspaper articles, encyclopedias, images and media, and primary sources in HoyaSearch.
- WorldCat.org This link opens in a new windowOver 100 million records for books and other materials in over 60,000 libraries. Items found in WorldCat may be requested through InterLibrary & Consortium Loan services.
Literature Databases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
- Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Italian Content
- AIDA online: articoli italiani di periodici accademici This link opens in a new window
- La rassegna della letteratura italianaUse this holding to access Torrossa database journal holdings until 2014 (advanced search -->journals)
Art History Databases
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
- Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR Images Search This link opens in a new window
Medieval and Renaissance
- L'année philologique This link opens in a new window
- International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Linguistics Databases
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
- PsycARTICLES on Ovid This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Databases
- EconLit This link opens in a new window
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
