Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

Graduate Student Induction

Services

Welcome to the Georgetown University Libraries

Research Assistance

Ask Us for Research Assistance:

Finding Articles and Books and other Resources

  • HoyaSearch  is the GU Library's discovery layer and catalog.  HoyaSearch data comes from Georgetown and the WRLC Consortium holdings, many of the Georgetown databases, and a variety of other sources.  You can find books, journal and newspaper articles, encyclopedias, images and videos, and primary sources in HoyaSearch.

 

 

 

Find primary source materials, rare books, archival materials, artwork, and other unique resources in the Booth Family for Special Collections.  Booth librarians can also help you analyze and interpret primary sources and use them in class assignments or research.

Accessing Library Electronic Collections

You will be able to access most library resources from wherever you are by logging in with your GU NetID and Password.  Follow the Instructions on the Off Campus Access Page.

 

The Lean Library browser extension makes it easy to access academic articles, e-books and databases licensed by Georgetown University Library wherever you are and whenever you need them. If the content you’d like to use doesn’t seem accessible, Lean Library will automatically check for open access versions of the article or take you directly to interlibrary loan. Install it on Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Edge, or Opera browsers in just a few clicks. Learn more and download at https://guides.library.georgetown.edu/offcampus/leanlibrary.

Requesting Materials

If the library does not have the articles or books you need you may request them.  Us the request option within HoyaSearch or the links on the Can't Find It page.

  • Interlibrary Loan: request articles or book chapters
  • Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC): you can request books held at the eight local university libraries be delivered to for pick up in either Lauinger, Blommer or the SCS Libraries.

Citation Tools

Zotero and Refworks are two citation management tools you may use to organize your research.  Check the workshop schedule for the opportunity to learn more about Zotero.

Writing Assistance

Workshops and Training

Check the Library Newsletter for a list of upcoming workshops.  Learn data visualization, the Zotero citation management tool, ArcGIS, video production, literature reviews for thesis writers and more.

 

LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) offers thousands or video tutorials on hundreds of subjects.  Watch a stand-alone video, or a series leading to an online certification.  Patrons with LinkedIn accounts can add certificates to their LinkedIn Profiles.  Active GU NetID required for access.

Research and Scholarship

As datasets become an increasingly important research output, the need for effective attribution tools and practices grows, too.  Georgetown Unviersity Library supports ORCID(Open Researcher and Contributor ID), an organization that can help you manage your professional identity.  Sign up for your own unique identifier, and then use it to connect your works across your career.  This will also contribute to enabling appropriate data attributions and ORCID ID's integrate with tools such as DataCite and figshare.  Contact digitalscholarship@georgetown.edu for more information.

Authoring a paper, dissertation, journal article, or book? Find out how to measure its impact in the scholarly community.

Digital Humanities are covered under the larger umbrella of Digital Scholarship at the Library.  Students and faculty interested in a Digital Humanities project should visit this page for addtional information about the Library's support of DH projects, and to get in touch with the Digital Scholarship Librarian for a consultation.

The Gelardin New Media Center offers video, audio, photography and other multimedia equipment and facilities.  Gelardin also provides regular workshops and one on one consultation.

Turn ideas into real-world objects on our Maker Hub, which offers design and workshop space and a host of advanced fabrication equipment.

These pages offer the Georgetown community resources for making informed decisions about how and where to publish your research and scholarship to ensure it will have the greatest possible impact and reach.

GUMC Students: Dahlgren Memorial (Medical) Library

Dahlgren Memorial Library

Dahlgren Memorial Library

202-687-1448 | dmlreference@georgetown.edu | map

Dahlgren Library, which is located at the Georgetown University Medical Center, acquires, organizes, and provides access to information services and resources in support of the mission of the University and the Medical Center, and consults and collaborates with GUMC faculty, staff, and students to integrate information resources and technologies into teaching, learning, research, patient care, and service.

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy