Guides: Eurasian Studies: Resources

Library of Congress's European Division

http://www.loc.gov/rr/european/
The European Division Reading Room (LJ-250) is the primary gateway relating to European countries, from Western Europe to Central and Eastern Europe, and from the Baltics to the Balkans. It also includes the Russian-speaking areas of Asia, but not Spain, Portugal, the United Kingdom, and Ireland. The Reading Room has custody of current, unbound Slavic and Baltic periodicals, as well as collections of pamphlets and "gray literature."

General News Sources

Online Databases of Russian/NIS Publications This link opens in a new window
Provides cross-searching of several databases: various historical media archives (Argumenty i Fakty, Izvestiia, Krokodil, Literaturnaia Gazeta, Moscow News, Post-Perestroika Newspapers, Pravda, Societskoe Zdravookhranenie, Voennaia Mysl'); Current Digest of the [Soviet and] Post-Soviet Press; CIS & Baltic Periodicals; Russian Central Newspapers; Social Sciences & Humanities [periodicals]; individual titles (Far Eastern Affairs, International Affairs, Social Sciences, Voprosy Literatury); 2010 Presidential Election in Belarus, and Russian/NIS Newswires. Most sources are in Russian or English.
Current Digest of the Russian Press This link opens in a new window
1992 - present Also includes The Current Digest of the Soviet Press (1949-1991) and The Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press (1992-2010). Provides weekly translations of articles from over 60 newspapers and magazines, such as Pravda and Izvestiia. Includes a quarterly index.

EurasiaNet
Daily news and analytic service covering Central Asia and the Caucasus, as well as developments in Russia, the Middle East, and Southwest Asia that bear on this region. Features include Today's Wires, which consolidates numerous stories from various outside sources and grouped by them by nation; Eurasia Insight, Environment, and Business & Economics, etc. Also offers book reviews, interviews, human rights articles, election watch, and a discussion forum.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1941 - 1996 This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text translations of foreign radio and television broadcasts as well as selected foreign news, periodical articles and government statements. Search by geographic region, article type or publication title. Browse "Events" to see chronological coverage of topics of interest. Coverage is continued by the World News Connection database.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Electronic Index This link opens in a new window
Index to FBIS reports from 1941 to 1996. Lauinger's Government Documents department has the full text on microfiche of items listed in this database from 1941 through the mid-1990s. Full text is also available for 1974 to 1996 from FBIS Reports Online. For 1994 to the present, see the World News Connection database.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Varies by publication.
Provides access to the full text of thousands of national and international magazines, newspapers, wire services, TV and radio broadcast transcripts, web publications, and blogs. Search by General, News, Legal, Business, or People.

Data Resources

Universal Database of Russian/NIS Statistical Publications & All-Russia Census
Includes dozens of statistical publications from Russia and the NIS, in Russian. Also includes the results of the All-Russian Population Census
Russia and Eurasia Facts and Figures Annual
Location: LAU Ref Stacks HA1446 .U17 (current volume only); earlier volumes available in LAU Stacks with same call number.
For Russia and the other Commonwealth of Independent States countries, this annual gives statistics on a wide range of subjects, including health, welfare, military, crime, and political statistics. Also useful for economic statistics.

Passport This link opens in a new window
formerly Global Market Information Database
Global in scope, Euromonitor's Passport provides lifestyle statistics and reports, market data and analysis, and market forecasts. Details include expenditure patterns, viewing time per medium and demographics. Use the search box in the upper left corner to find an industry.

Online Statistical Resources for Russia, Eastern Europe and Central Asia (Michigan State Univ. Lib.)
Links to statistical sites in individual countries

WDI Online This link opens in a new window
1960- .
Comparable data collected by the World Bank to measure development outcomes. Includes over 500 indicators and covers 152 countries.
Location: LAU Stacks HC 59 .W62
UNdata This link opens in a new window
1970- .
Over 300 sets of economic, social, and financial statistics from a wide assortment of United Nations agencies and other international organizations. Most data are available in time series from 1970 or 1980 to the present. (Statistics for some items lag by several years.)
GovInfo This link opens in a new window
GovInfo replaces the Federal Digital System (FDsys) and is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO). It provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government, such as the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Congressional Record, Congressional bills, Congressional hearings and reports, and laws.

OECD Economic Surveys
Separate annual reviews for each country provide discussion of recent economic trends and statistics for economic indicators. Available for most of Eastern Europe, including non-OECD countries. Also available online within SourceOECD.

Other websites

Stalin Digital Archive
A web-based archive of archival and secondary research on the Stalin era, this database presents documents that have previously only been available at the RGASPI archive in Russia. Digital versions of Yale’s Annals of Communism series supplement the RGASPI collection with additional scholarly commentary on selected documents concerning the history of Soviet and international communism from Russian state archives spanning the 75-year history of the USSR.
Open-access, full-text, Russian-language archive of more than 15,000 books
"Библиотека содержит более 15 тысяч книг как русских так и зарубежных писателей среди которых обязательно найдётся то, что заинтересует тебя."
Columbia University's Guide to Resources in Russian, East European & Eurasian Studies
EDIRC: Economics Departments, Institutes and Research Centers in the World
University of Connecticut Department of Economics has links to economics departments, research centers and institutes in universities as well as finance ministries, statistical offices, central banks, think tanks and other non-profit institutes where mainly economists work. Alphabetical list by country. Over 260 entries for Russia.
Inventory of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Digital Projects
RussGUS Databank
RussGUS is a bibliographic database of German language materials on Russia, the Soviet Union and it`s successor states.The database covers the period since 1974 and consists now of about 175.000 records.
Russian History Blog
Scholars of various periods of Russian history discuss new publications, films, curricular materials, etc.

Dissertations & Theses

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Electronic equivalent of Dissertation Abstracts International. this represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American and European universities on a full range of academic subjects. Citations for Master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. All dissertations published since 1997, and some from prior years, are available for free download; others may be requested via Interlibrary Loan
Includes abstracts for doctoral dissertations beginning July 1980 and for Master's theses beginning Spring 1988. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts. Citations for Master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Most dissertations published since 1997, and some from prior years, are available for free download; others may be requested via Interlibrary Loan.

Dissertations & Theses (Georgetown-authored)
Recent online theses and dissertations from selected Georgetown programs and departments.

Australasian Digital Theses Program This link opens in a new window
Indexes theses produced at Australian and New Zealand universities. Includes access to 150,000 theses, with over 5,000 available full-text online. Provides links to home institutions for access to non-digitized theses.
EThoS: Electronic Theses Online This link opens in a new window
The British Library's database of digitized theses from UK higher education institutions. Free registration and login is required.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Presents a searchable and browsable collection of electronic theses and dissertations. Includes masters- and doctoral-level theses and dissertations from about 70 institutions, U.S. and international.
Theses Canada Portal This link opens in a new window
Provides information on all the Canadian theses and dissertations in the collection of the National Library of Canada. Free access to the full-text of theses from 1998.

Dissertation Reviews
Dissertation Reviews features friendly, non-critical overviews of recently defended and unpublished dissertations, as well as articles on archives and libraries around the world