Library E-Book Collections
The Library has access to many e-book collections from a variety of publishers and platforms. This list includes our core collections, free/open access ebook collections, and other collections we think might be helpful for research.
Caveats about Library e-book collections:
- The Library may not have all titles in a collection. For some larger collections, we only have a handful of titles!
- Titles change frequently in some collections. What you see today may not be the same mix of titles tomorrow.
- This is not an exhaustive list of Library e-book collections. If you are curious about e-books from a specific publisher or vendor, please ask us.
| Collection | What's in the collection? | Access/Usage Notes |
|---|---|---|
| ACLS Humanities E-Books (Fulcrum) | 5,000+ titles on multiple humanities subjects. Mostly recent scholarship but some digitized older titles as well. | Read online or download individual chapters as PDFs. PDFs can be VERY large, even of single chapters -- we recommend only downloading 1-2 chapters in a session. |
| America's Historical Imprints | 150,000+ titles published in the United States from 1639 to 1922. (Readex) | Read online or download PDFs. |
| ARTFL | 3,500+ French-language titles, mostly pre-20th century. | Optimized for word searching. Can also read online page-by-page. |
| Bloomsbury | Selected individual titles, mostly humanities, social sciences, and Middle East studies. | Read online or download PDFs of individual chapters. |
| Brill | Selected titles and reference works in history, classics, Middle East studies, and religion. Some reference works available on older Brill platform. | Read online or download PDF (no restrictions) |
| Business Expert Press E-Books (iGLibrary) | 1,100 titles on business subjects. Most published 2008-present. | Read online or download PDF, EPUB (no restrictions) |
| Cambridge University Press (Cambridge Core) | Individual titles, no packages or textbooks. Some Cambridge titles are available via other e-book packages (ProQuest or JSTOR). | Read online or download individual PDF chapters. |
| Credo Reference | Reference works: general and specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks. | Individual articles can be read and printed or saved to PDF. |
| De Gruyter E-Books | Selected titles in Social Sciences, Theology/Religious Studies book archives / backlist pre-1990 to 2014, Ibero-American books published by Vervuert in 2021-2022. Free/OA titles in multiple subjects. Most titles in German and English. | To see title list: Publications > Books (Publication Type) and filter by "All available content." Titles can be read online or downloaded as PDF, sometimes also as EPUB. |
| Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts | 1,000+ titles from the Reformation and post-Reformation. (Alexander Street Press) | Search for a title, or browse to read online. Can print/download individual pages. |
| Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation | 845 titles by Catholic theologians in the 16th and 17th centuries. (Alexander Street Press) | Search for a title, or browse to read online. Can print/download individual pages. |
| Digitalia E-Books |
42,000 titles from/about Iberia and Latin America, from Digitalia Hispanica collection. Most titles in Spanish and Portuguese, recently published. |
Read online or download PDF. Adobe Digital Editions required, 20 day checkout. |
| Duke University Press | Titles by/about Latin America through 2022. | Individual chapters can be downloaded as PDFs. |
| EBSCOhost E-Books | See Core E-book Collections | See Core E-Book Collections for usage info. |
| Early English Books Online (EEBO) | Over 146,000 digitized microfilmed books from 1473 to 1700, spanning multiple subjects. (ProQuest) | Read online or download PDFs. PDFs can be very large. |
| Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) | 180,000 titles from 1701 to 1800, digitized from microfilmed copies. (Gale) | Read online and/or download as PDF. |
| Elsevier E-Books (ScienceDirect) | 700 selected monographs, handbooks, and reference works. Additional titles may be available on other platforms (principally ProQuest Ebook Central or EBSCO). |
To see title list: Journals & Books, then refine list by Publication Type = "Books" and Access Type= "Subscribed & Complimentary." Read online, or download chapters as PDFs. |
| Gallica | 9m+ documents from the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF), including ebooks in the public domain. Available to anyone. | Read online or download individual pages or full book, in PDF, EPUB and other formats. |
| Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) | Reference works, mostly specialized encyclopedias and biographical works. | Individual articles can be read online and/or downloaded as PDFs. |
| Georgetown University Press e-books | 17 titles from 1990-2000. | Read online or download as PDF. |
| Goethes Werke | Corpus of the digitized Weimar edition and supplements of Goethe's works and correspondence. (ProQuest) | Keyword search within the corpus. Search results can be downloaded. |
| Google Books | Millions of books on multiple subjects. In-copyright books limited to preview or may not be readable (only searched). | Read online. |
| HathiTrust | See Core E-Book Collections for info. | See Core E-Book Collections. |
| IMF eLibrary | Publications from the International Monetary Fund (IMF), mostly recent publications and historical annual reports/statistics. | Read online or download in PDF or EPUB. |
| Internet Archive | Over 6m books on multiple subjects. | Read online or download in multiple formats. Some titles require a free Internet Archive account and/or Adobe Digital Editions, and can only be read or downloaded for a limited time (1 hour - 14 days). |
| JSTOR E-Books | See Core E-Book Collections for more info. | See Core E-Book Collections. |
| Library of Latin Texts | 11,000+ works in Latin, from classical antiquity to the modern era. (Brepols) | Keyword search or read online. |
| Literature Online (LION) | 350,000+ titles of English and American literature and secondary sources. (ProQuest) | Keyword search or read online. Can download individual pages (sometimes entire works) as PDF. |
| Loeb Classical Library | Online editions of the Loeb Classics (both Greek and Latin). | Read online. Can print (and download) individual pages. |
|
Making of America (UMichigan) |
10,000 books on 19th century American social history, from pre-Civil War through Reconstruction. There are an additional 267 e-books available in HathiTrust (this was the old Cornell collection). | Read online. Individual pages can be printed/downloaded. |
| Making of the Modern World | 61,000 digitized microfilmed titles on economics and business from 1450 through 1945. Includes the Goldsmiths'-Kress Collection and other microfilm series. (Gale) | Keyword search, then read online and/or download as PDF. |
| MIT Press E-Books | 2,000+ selected titles, mostly from Humanities and Social Science backlist, plus 2022 frontlist. | To view title list, go to "Browse Books" then filter by Availability = "Available" (and/or "Open Access" and "Free"). Download chapters in PDF. |
| National Academies Press E-Books | Free publications from the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. | Read online or download PDF. |
| Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) | Books and other primary sources relating to the 19th century. (Gale) | Keyword search, then read online and/or download as PDF. |
| O'Reilly for Higher Education (formerly Safari Books Online) | See Core E-Book Collections for more info. | See Core E-Book Collections. |
| OECD iLibrary | Publications from the Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD). | Read online or download PDF. |
| Oxford E-Books (Oxford Scholarship Online) | See Core E-Book Collections for info. | See Core E-Book Collections. |
| Past Masters | Full-text works of approximately 100 authors. | Read online. |
| Patrologia Latina | Works of the Church Fathers, from Tertullian (200 AD) to Pope Innocent III (1216 AD). In Latin. (ProQuest/Chadwyck-Healy) | Keyword search or read online. Can download "volumes" (text) in PDF. |
| Patrologiae Graecae | Works of the Church Fathers in Greek, from Clement to the Council of Florence (1439 AD). Mostly in Greek with Latin translation. | Read online or download PDF page images. |
| ProQuest EBook Central | See Core E-Book Collections for more info. | See Core E-Book Collections for more info. |
| Sabin Americana | 20,000+ titles from 1500 to 1926, published in America or about the Americas. (Gale) | Search by author/title/keyword, then read online and/or download as PDF. |
| Schillers Werke | Corpus of the Nationalausgabe, the definitive edition of Schiller's works and letters. (ProQuest) | Keyword search within the corpus. Search results can be downloaded. |
| Siku Quanshu | 3,000+ titles of Chinese history, literature, philosophy, and science compiled from 1773 to 1782. | Read online from on-campus only. Requires a personal Windows PC with ability to install client program (NOT a Library computer) and an on-campus Internet connection. See Siku Quanshu guide for more details. |
| South Asia Commons (formerly South Asia Archive) | 289,000 publications (books and other formats) covering nations on the Indian subcontinent from 1700 to 1953. | Search for titles, then view or download chapters as PDFs. |
| Springer E-Books | See Core E-Book Collections for more info. | See Core E-Book Collections for more info. |
| Twentieth Century Advice Literature | 900 titles on etiquette, marriage, and other topics from the late 19th century to early 2000s. (Alexander Street Press) | Search or browse for titles, then read online. Can print/download individual pages. |
| Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Volume II, Islam | 400 books and other documents on Islamic theology from the late 19th century to the present day. (Alexander Street Press) | Search or browse for titles, then read online. Can print/download individual pages. |
| Wiley E-Books | 200 selected individual titles. Some additional Wiley titles are available on other platforms (principally ProQuest Ebook Central and EBSCO). | For selected titles, look for "Free Access" or "Full Access" icons. Unlocked titles can be download as PDFs (either individual chapters or sometimes entire books). |
| 18th Century German Literature Online | 2,000+ titles from German-speaking authors of the 18th century. Documents in German, usually in Fraktur typeface. | Read online. |
