Core E-Book Collections
- Major Library e-book collections, often including books on multiple subjects.
- Good starting points for finding e-books.
EBSCO E-Books
| What's in the collection? | Multiple subjects, thousands of titles | |
| Perpetual access to titles? | Yes, mostly | |
| Do we have all titles in the collection? | No | |
| Free/OA collection? | No, available to Library users only | |
| Titles in HoyaSearch? | Yes | |
| Loan Period | 1 week | |
| Simultaneous users? | Varies by title, but often single-user | |
| Read Online? | Yes | |
| Can be downloaded? File format? | Yes, to Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) PDF | |
| Additional requirements |
EBSCOhost personal account (for note-taking, downloading) |
Additional EBSCO Notes
- The vast majority of EBSCO e-books require you to create a free myEBSCOhost account (separate from your other GU accounts).
- Many EBSCO e-books are single-user -- however, you can place a hold on a book to be notified when the title is available.
Downloading EBSCO E-books
- Sign in (or create) your My EBSCOhost account (separate from your GU Library account).
- Install and activate Adobe Digital Editions (see left sidebar). Create an Adobe ID, if you don't have one.
- Click the Download this eBook (Offline) link for the e-book you would like to download.
- Click the Checkout & Download button. A file for Adobe Digital Editions will download, and the e-book will be added to the Checkouts area of your EBSCO folder.
- From within Adobe Digital Editions, open the downloaded file.
NOTE: A few EBSCO e-books are DRM-free and can be downloaded without signing into My EBSCOhost or using ADE. However, the vast majority of GU-owned titles will require the above steps.
EBSCO E-Book Help
- EBSCO E-Book User Guide
- Contact E-Resources for more help
ProQuest Ebook Central
| What's in the collection? |
|
|
| Perpetual access to titles? | EBC Complete: No -- titles move in and out of the collection. Individual title purchases: yes, perpetual access. |
|
| Do we have all titles in the collection? | No | |
| Free/OA collection? | No, available only to GU NetID holders | |
| Titles in HoyaSearch? | Yes | |
| Loan Period | Varies, from 1 day to 21 days | |
| Simultaneous users? | Varies by title: most EBC Complete titles are unlimited simultaneous users, others may be single-user. | |
| Read Online? | Yes | |
| Can be downloaded? File format? | Yes, to Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) PDF or EPUB | |
| Additional requirements |
GU NetID required for all users |
Additional ProQuest Ebook Central Notes
- A valid Georgetown NetID is required to use EBook Central, even if you are simply reading online (not downloading) on campus.
- E-Book Central Complete is a large package of ProQuest titles available to the WRLC libraries, including GU. Titles are unlimited-user but are not permanent -- books move in and out of this collection regularly!
Downloading Ebook Central E-Books
- Install and activate Adobe Digital Editions (see left sidebar).
- Click the Full Download button.
- Don't want to download the entire book? Use the Chapter Download link. Usually a small chunk of pages can be printed or downloaded as a PDF.
- You may need to sign in with your NetID.
- Choose your device (usually Ebook Central will successfully guess) and computer location.
- If you already installed Adobe Digital Editions, click Done with this step to continue.
- Choose your download period (we recommend the max available) and format, if a choice is available.
- Click Download Your Book. An ASCM file will download.
- (if necessary) From within Adobe Digital Editions, open the downloaded file.
Ebook Central Help
- Ebook Central LibGuide (from ProQuest)
- Contact E-Resources for more help.
Oxford E-Books
| What's in the collection? |
|
|
| Perpetual access to titles? | Yes | |
| Do we have all titles in the collection? | No | |
| Free/OA collection? | No, available only to GU NetID holders | |
| Titles in HoyaSearch? | Yes | |
| Loan Period | NA | |
| Simultaneous users? | Unlimited | |
| Read Online? | Yes | |
| Can be downloaded? File format? | Individual chapters can be downloaded to PDFs. Some free/open-access titles can be downloaded into a single PDF. |
|
| Additional requirements |
None |
Additional Notes for Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO)
- OSO does NOT include everything published by OUP. Many popular series (eg. Very Short Introductions) are not included.
- The Library has access to additional Oxford University Press titles outside OSO, such as the Oxford English Dictionary, Oxford Arabic Dictionary and more. Look in the Library's A-Z List or consult HoyaSearch.
Help with Oxford Scholarship Online
- Help page from Oxford Academic
- Ask for help from Library E-Resources
JSTOR E-Books
| What's in the collection? |
100,000+ selected titles from JSTOR's collections, in various subjects |
|
| Perpetual access to titles? | No -- except for "triggered" titles or purchased individually. | |
| Do we have all titles in the collection? | No | |
| Free/OA collection? | No, available to Library users only | |
| Titles in HoyaSearch? | Yes | |
| Loan Period | NA | |
| Simultaneous users? | Unlimited | |
| Read Online? | Yes | |
| Can be downloaded? File format? | Individual chapters can be downloaded to PDFs. | |
| Additional requirements |
None |
Additional Notes for JSTOR E-Books
What is "JSTOR EBA" or "JSTOR DDA"? We get e-books from JSTOR in several different ways:
- JSTOR DDA = demand-driven acquisition. JSTOR offers us access to thousands of titles, which are discoverable in HoyaSearch. Once a title is used a certain number of times, it "triggers" and we automatically purchase the title. Access to un-triggered titles is not guaranteed, as titles move in and out of the DDA collection frequently. E-Resources can determine whether a DDA title is triggered or un-triggered.
- JSTOR EBA = evidence-based acquisition. Similar to DDA, JSTOR offers us thousands of titles. The Library pre-commits to buying a specified number of titles. After several months (to establish usage patterns), the Library selects titles for purchase, and the other titles are withdrawn from the collection. Access to unpurchased EBA titles is not guaranteed and titles move in and out of the collection frequently.
- Open Access = books offered by JSTOR for free.
- Individual Purchased Titles = titles selected and purchased individually by the Library. We have indefinite access to these titles.
Help with JSTOR E-Books
- JSTOR Support on various topics
- Ask for help from Library E-Resources
O'Reilly E-Books
| What's in the collection? |
40,000+ titles in computer science, programming, business, and related topics.. |
|
| Perpetual access to titles? | No | |
| Do we have all titles in the collection? | Yes | |
| Free/OA collection? | No, available only to GU NetID holders. | |
| Titles in HoyaSearch? | Yes | |
| Loan Period | NA | |
| Simultaneous users? | Unlimited | |
| Read Online? | Yes | |
| Can be downloaded? File format? | No. Individual chapters can be printed and saved as PDFs. | |
| Additional requirements |
None |
Additional Notes for O'Reilly books
- A valid Georgetown NetID is required to read O'Reilly books, even if you are on campus.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education used to be known as Safari Books Online.
Help with O'Reilly Books
- Ask for help from Library E-Resources
Springer E-Books
| What's in the collection? |
20,000+ titles, mostly in computer science, behavioral science, medicine, and other sciences, plus individual titles ordered by the Library |
|
| Perpetual access to titles? | Yes | |
| Do we have all titles in the collection? | No | |
| Free/OA collection? | Most only available to Library patrons. Some titles are free/OA. | |
| Titles in HoyaSearch? | Yes | |
| Loan Period | NA | |
| Simultaneous users? | Yes | |
| Read Online? | Yes | |
| Can be downloaded? File format? | Yes, either by chapters or entire book, to PDF and (sometimes) to EPUB | |
| Additional requirements |
None |
Additional Springer Notes
- Preview-only content is NOT included in the Library's Springer collection.
Springer E-Books Help
- Contact E-Resources for more help.
HathiTrust E-Books
| What's in the collection? |
|
|
| Perpetual access to titles? | Yes | |
| Do we have all titles in the collection? | Yes, but not all titles are full-text | |
| Free/OA collection? |
|
|
| Titles in HoyaSearch? | No | |
| Loan Period | NA | |
| Simultaneous users? | Unlimited | |
| Read Online? | Yes | |
| Can be downloaded? File format? | Library patrons can download full PDFs after sign-in | |
| Additional requirements |
None |
Additional Notes for HathiTrust E-Books
- Full text on HathiTrust is governed by public domain law and user location. In the United States, most works published in the U.S. 95+ years ago and certain items published by the U.S. Federal Government are accessible. Books published outside the U.S. 95-125 years ago may also be accessible -- from a computer within the US. Outside the US, non-US works have a cutoff of 125 years ago.
- Newer works cannot be read, but can be searched. HathiTrust has many "limited" books, where you can search inside the full text. HathiTrust will provide relevant page numbers if your term is located inside the book.
Help with HathiTrust-Ebooks
- Using the Digital Library FAQ from HathiTrust
- Ask for help from Library E-Resources
