Classics

"The Department of Greece and Rome at the British Museum has one of the most comprehensive collections of antiquities from the Classical world, with over 100,000 objects. These mostly range in date from the beginning of the Greek Bronze Age (about 3200BC) to the reign of the Roman emperor Constantine in the fourth century AD, with some pagan survivals."

Images of selected items and detailed descriptions are available online, and may be downloaded by registered users (free for individual

"The collection of Greek and Roman art at the Metropolitan Museum holds more than seventeen thousand works ranging in date from the Neolithic period to the time of the Roman emperor Constantine's conversion to Christianity in A.D. 312. It includes the art of many cultures and is among the most comprehensive in North America."

Searchable database of works of art in the Louvre. Contents can also be browsed by department.

A Harvard-owned center located in DC, with a non-circulating collection. For information regarding application for visitor's privileges, please see the library's website. Its holdings are included in HOLLIS, Harvard's online catalog.

The Research Library has strong holdings in our three dedicated areas of study—Byzantine, Pre-Columbian, and Garden and Landscape Studies—and related fields. In addition to supporting the research of staff and fellows, the Library also admits readers as well as researchers who come to Dumbarton Oaks on shorter visits. At a time when libraries around the world face increasing pressures, the Dumbarton Oaks Library continues to pursue a strong acquisitions initiative, and to find ways to make our holdings available to a wider community of scholars.

The Arthur & Janet C. Ross Library contains 155,000 volumes in the fields of classical studies and the history of (Italian) art and architecture (chiefly medieval and renaissance) with strong collections in ancient Mediterranean art and archaeology, classical literature, ancient topography (including the history of the city of Rome), and related fields, such as epigraphy, numismatics, and papyrology.

The inventories, indices and catalogues which describe the Vatican manuscript collections are a reflection of the diversity and of the centuries-old sedimentation of the collections themselves. They range from hand-written inventories and indices from the seventeenth century and later (some of which came to the Vatican Library together with the collections as they were purchased) to typewritten inventories from the twentieth century; from printed catalogues (starting with the eighteenth-century catalogue of Assemani and continuing with the series begun under Leo XIII [1878-1903] and still progressing today) to the current electronic catalogue.

The APGRD is a research project based in the Classics Centre at the University of Oxford. It investigates the performance of ancient texts in any medium and any period, from Greek tragedy to Roman epic, from stage to screen, from antiquity to the present day.