Chemistry

In addition to traditional author, title, and keyword searches, the citation databases offer access to articles' cited references (from authors' bibliographies). You may take a known, relevant paper and find other, more recent papers that cite it.
TIP: To bring the articles most relevant to the topic to the top of the results list for a subject search, change the Sort By option to Relevance.
TIP: The Help pages (top right tab) are excellent.

NOTE: SciFinderⁿ requires that users have an individual, free account on the site. To register, please visit the SciFinder registration page. Additional login information is available directly from the CAS as a PDF.
Like its online predecessor, SciFinder (and its print equivalent, Chemical Abstracts), SciFinderⁿ is a core chemistry research and discovery tool for finding chemical substances, reactions, journal articles, and patent records. Two new elements make SciFinderⁿ particularly valuable:

- PatentPak—helps scientists evaluate the relevance of patents by making it easy to navigate quickly to specific substances referenced in the text of a patent
- MethodsNow—enables immediate access to millions of synthetic protocols (i.e., step-by-step synthetic methods)

With its additional functionality, SciFinderⁿ provides information and data faster and more comprehensively than SciFinder did, widening the search landscape and possibly increasing research productivity and impact.

Database of chemical structures, their associated chemical and physical properties, reaction and synthesis information, and bibliographic data. Covers organic chemistry, organometallic and inorganic chemistry, and the chemistry from relevant patents. Merges the content from three major chemistry data sources (Beilstein, Gmelin, and patent chemistry databases). Can be searched by reaction, substance/structure, property, and citation.

Need to renew your ChemDraw Professional license? Follow these instructions.
Molecule editor and chemical structure drawing tool for chemists and biologists. Allows you to draw and submit chemical compound and reaction searches direct to SciFinder. Offers an extensive set of biological templates and drawing objects to create illustrations of cells and pathways. Georgetown’s site license allows all current Georgetown students, faculty, and staff to download the program for free to their home, office, or personal computer. After installation, no Internet connection is required for use. Requires a free Revvity Signals account to download. Follow the instructions to create a free account with Revvity Signals (or log in with your existing account), then download the software.