Your Librarian
Sharon Clayton
She/Her/They
Contact:
Lauinger Library
For research consultations or reference questions, please email me.
For research consultations or reference questions, please email me.
202-687-7467
Get Answers
Properties Data
- CAS Common ChemistryThe database contains over 380,000 chemical records, of which over 269,000 include chemical structures, and is searchable by Name, Synonym, CAS Registry Number, Molecular Formula, Other Names and Identifiers, and/or Biological/Chemical properties.
- BRENDA Enzyme Information SystemBRENDA is the primary collection of enzyme functional data available to the scientific community. It is available free of charge for academic, non-profit users via the internet. Covers a wide range of enzyme characteristics. More than 50 fields containing close to half a million entries can be queried in various combinations.
- ChemBioFinderThis free resource (requires registration) can be used to search for the physical property data of compounds. It can be explored by chemical names, CAS registry numbers, molecular weight, and structures.
- ChemSpiderChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 67 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
- PubChemPubChem is world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
General Chemistry Online Data
- HyperChem: Basic GuideHyperChem is a versatile molecular modeler and editor as well as a powerful computational package, offering many types of molecular and quantum mechanics calculations. HyperChem is accessible at the computer terminals in the Blommer Science Library and from the All Programs menu in UIS labs.
The downloadable step-by-step guide which includes screen shots (above), shows how to draw molecules and obtain the bond lengths and angles.
- WebCSD This link opens in a new windowWeb-based application of information stored in the Cambridge Structural Database (CSD). Contains bibliographic, chemical, and crystallographic information for organic molecules and metal-organic compounds whose 3D structures have been determined using X-ray or neutron diffraction. New structures are added to WebCSD weekly. Provides "fast, straightforward searches of CSD, rather than attempting to replicate the extensive functionality of the (locally installed) CSD system software for structural analysis." Contains some additional capabilities not accessible through the installed software, including similarity searching.
- EnzymeRepository of information relative to the nomenclature of enzymes. It is primarily based on the recommendations of the Nomenclature Committee of the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (IUBMB) and it describes each type of characterized enzyme for which an EC (Enzyme Commission) number has been provided.
- Table of NuclidesPresents a map of all known nuclides. Created by the Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute.
- WebElementsAn interactive Periodic Table of the Elements.
- Inorganic Crystal Structure Database This link opens in a new windowThe ICSD contains an almost exhaustive list of known inorganic crystal structures published since 1913, including their atomic coordinates.
