Your Librarian
Sharon Clayton
She/Her/They
Contact:
Lauinger Library
For research consultations or reference questions, please email me.
For research consultations or reference questions, please email me.
202-687-7467
Get Answers
HoyaSearch: Find Journals
What Is a Database?
The Library databases listed here are collections of journal articles searchable by author, title, abstracts, keywords, subject indexing terms, and sometimes every word in the articles. They will contain or link to the full text of the articles if available at Georgetown or a link to our Interlibrary Loan Services through which you can get a link to the PDF sent to your email - usually in 24 hours or less.
TIP: Many times a keyword search will give sufficient results. If not, look at a few relevant article titles, abstracts, and keywords or descriptors. They often suggest other good words to use in your search. Also look for "Similar Articles" or "Related Articles" options in the database (although not all databases offer this).
For Advanced Searching - Many databases offer advanced search features that allow for more powerful directed searching. These enable you to use special fields and limiters such as Document type, Population or Age Group for a study, Chemical Substance used.
If you are doing advanced research, consult the librarian for your field, to find out how to make the best use of these powerful databases.
Key Databases for Chemistry
- SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new windowNOTE: SciFinderⁿ requires that users have an individual, free account on the site. To register, please visit the SciFinder registration page. Additional login information is available directly from the CAS as a PDF.
Like its online predecessor, SciFinder (and its print equivalent, Chemical Abstracts), SciFinderⁿ is a core chemistry research and discovery tool for finding chemical substances, reactions, journal articles, and patent records. Two new elements make SciFinderⁿ particularly valuable:
- PatentPak—helps scientists evaluate the relevance of patents by making it easy to navigate quickly to specific substances referenced in the text of a patent
- MethodsNow—enables immediate access to millions of synthetic protocols (i.e., step-by-step synthetic methods)
With its additional functionality, SciFinderⁿ provides information and data faster and more comprehensively than SciFinder did, widening the search landscape and possibly increasing research productivity and impact. - Reaxys This link opens in a new windowDatabase of chemical structures, their associated chemical and physical properties, reaction and synthesis information, and bibliographic data. Covers organic chemistry, organometallic and inorganic chemistry, and the chemistry from relevant patents. Merges the content from three major chemistry data sources (Beilstein, Gmelin, and patent chemistry databases). Can be searched by reaction, substance/structure, property, and citation.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCumulates five databases:
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science
Emerging Sources Citation Index
Science Citation Index Expanded
Social Sciences Citation Index
In addition to traditional author, title and keyword searches, the citation databases offer access to articles' cited references (from authors' bibliographies). You may take a known, relevant paper and find other, more recent papers that cite it. - ACS Publications This link opens in a new windowA division of the American Chemical Society (ACS), the ACS Publications database provides Web access to more than 30 magazines and peer-reviewed journals published or co-published by the Publications Division. Includes online access to the ACS Style Guide.
- RSC Online Journals This link opens in a new windowNote: Access to all content on this platform is incomplete. Please reference HoyaSearch or the Journal Finder for the library's complete holdings.The Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) publishes all of its journal articles on the web as soon as they have completed the production process, typically 4-6 weeks in advance of being published in print. Articles are available in full HTML and are assigned a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) to allow the referencing of the articles before the Volume, Issue and Page details of the article are known.
- WebCSD This link opens in a new windowWeb-based application of information stored in the Cambridge Structural Database (CSD). Contains bibliographic, chemical, and crystallographic information for organic molecules and metal-organic compounds whose 3D structures have been determined using X-ray or neutron diffraction. New structures are added to WebCSD weekly. Provides "fast, straightforward searches of CSD, rather than attempting to replicate the extensive functionality of the (locally installed) CSD system software for structural analysis." Contains some additional capabilities not accessible through the installed software, including similarity searching.
Interdisciplinary databases - Chemistry in other disciplines
SciFinder Scholar is very exhaustive, and already includes a lot of the interdisciplinary literature from Art, Music, Psychology etc. But these database listed below will have some not found there.
Chemistry & Art ~ These databases include articles on things like Art as therapy, the relationship between Artistic work and brain chemistry, and the chemistry of artistic materials.
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles on fine arts, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Covers wide range of art journals back to 1984 and indexes dissertations and art reproductions. Art Index Retrospective covers the same material from 1929-1984.
- International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new windowThe International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the definitive resource for scholarly literature on western art, and is published exclusively by ProQuest. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute as part of BHA. These records were created in 2008-2009, and cover scholarship up to 2009, including retrospective records for material published in previous years.
Chemistry & Business - Information from trade and business sources on the Chemical, Biochemical, and Pharmaceutical industries
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexi Uni has three primary collections: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
Chemistry & Music
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowCovers nearly all aspects of the world of music, from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes.
Includes articles related to the effect of music on biochemistry
Chemistry & Psychology
- PsycINFO on Ovid This link opens in a new windowThe primary index to the literature of psychology and its related fields. Since 1887 covers journal articles, and since 1987, books and book chapters. International in scope, topics include psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
All Chemistry Databases
To view all chemistry databases, please go to A-Z Databases on the library's website.
General Science Databases
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowFree (non-subscription) access to the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE and PreMEDLINE. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
- ProQuest Science Journals This link opens in a new windowSearches full text and images for science and technology periodicals. Subject coverage includes all applied and general science topics, including computer science, engineering, telecommunications, and transportation.
- General Science Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from more than 100 journals and magazines back to 1995, with citations back to 1984. Covers all science-related topics.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowWeb database for scientific research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of Elsevier journal articles mainly in science and medicine, with some coverage of social sciences and humanities, particularly business, economics and psychology. The full text of most journals is available to Georgetown users. You can search across all journals or browse/search in an individual journal.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
