Your Library Expert
Sharon Clayton
She/Her/They
Contact:
Lauinger Library
For research consultations or reference questions, please email me.
For research consultations or reference questions, please email me.
202-687-7467
Get Answers
HoyaSearch: Find Journals
Databases with major coverage in Biology
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubmed is an index created & updated daily by the National Library of Medicine. It indexes all scientific literature related to Human Biology and Health. It defines Human Biology & Health broadly to include anything that is related to humans or has an impact on human health. So, it includes studies that use animal models, studies of plants as they effect human health or are used in medicine, and anything on the genetic or molecular level in any organism.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a index to the top scholarly literature in all subject areas. It has strong coverage in Biology. In addition to indexing articles by keyword and topic, it allows you to take a known, relevant paper and find other paper related to it.
You can find more recent papers that cite the known paper, as well as find articles related to it through shared citations. -
SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new windowSciFinder is the most comprehensive database for Biochemistry
NOTE: SciFinderⁿ requires that users have an individual, free account on the site. To register, please visit the SciFinder registration page. -
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of Elsevier journal articles mainly in science and medicine, with some coverage of social sciences and humanities, particularly business, economics and psychology. The full text of most journals is available to Georgetown users. You can search across all journals or browse/search in an individual journal.
-
All Biology Databases @ GeorgetownSee a list of links to all the databases at Georgetown that have significant coverage for Biochemistry
Specialized Biology Databases
-
Bio-protocolFocused on Biological Protocols
Freely available peer-reviewed e-journal/database of protocols in the life sciences, created by Stanford researchers.
-
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new windowFocused on Agriculture
Created by the National Agriculture Library, this database covers agriculture, food science, and human nutrition -
Bioethics Research Library Databases This link opens in a new windowFocused on Bio-Ethics - Includes ETHXWeb and Generics & Ethics. Both contain journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics.
-
JoVE (The Journal of Visualized Experiments) This link opens in a new windowFocused on Video Tutorials and Articles in Biology
The Journal of Visualized Experiments is a peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed journal devoted to the publication of life sciences research in video format. Georgetown users have access to the following sections of JoVE: Biology, Neuroscience, and Immunology & Infection. -
JSTOR Sustainability This link opens in a new windowFocused on Environmental Sustainability
JSTOR Sustainability brings together 150 journals and 5,000 research reports on the environment, energy, ecology, urban planning, infrastructure, land management, and more. The collection can be searched on its own or through the JSTOR general portal. -
Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowFocused on Environmental Science
Provides comprehensive coverage on environment-related subjects, from ecosystem ecology and renewable energy sources to environmental law and public policy. Contains full text for 950 journals, including many of the most used in the discipline, such as Environment, Ecologist, or Conservation Biology.
Interdisciplinary databases - Biology in other disciplines
Biology & Art ~ These databases include articles on things like art as therapy, the relationship between artistic work and neurology and the biochemistry of artistic materials.
-
Art Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles on fine arts, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Covers wide range of art journals back to 1984 and indexes dissertations and art reproductions. Art Index Retrospective covers the same material from 1929-1984.
-
International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new windowThe International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the definitive resource for scholarly literature on western art, and is published exclusively by ProQuest. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute as part of BHA. These records were created in 2008-2009, and cover scholarship up to 2009, including retrospective records for material published in previous years.
Biology & Business - Information from trade and business sources on Bio-medical and Pharmaceutical industries
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexi Uni has three primary collections: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
Biology & Music ~ Includes articles on the relationship between music and human biology
-
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowCovers nearly all aspects of the world of music, from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes. Current content from more than 300 scholarly and popular music periodicals from over 20 countries. Indexes feature music articles and obituaries appearing in New York Times and Washington Post. Records from 1996 forward contain abstracts.
Biology & Psychology ~ Includes articles on Bio-medical aspects of psychology
-
PsycINFO on Ovid This link opens in a new windowThe primary index to the literature of psychology and its related fields. Since 1887 covers journal articles, and since 1987, books and book chapters. International in scope, topics include psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Multidisciplinary Databases
These are general academic databases that include some biology but may contain less technical information than the key databases. The first of the following three databases may be the most useful one for non-science majors writing on a science topic.
-
General Science Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from more than 100 journals and magazines back to 1995, with citations back to 1984. Covers all science-related topics.
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
-
ProQuest Science Journals This link opens in a new windowSearches full text and images for science and technology periodicals. Subject coverage includes all applied and general science topics, including computer science, engineering, telecommunications, and transportation.
-
To Browse the A to Z Database ListThis link provides an A to Z list of all research database subscriptions provided by the University Library System. Use the "Subject", "Database Types", or "Vendor" dropdown menus to narrow your search.
Dissertations & Theses
-
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowProQuest database providing the electronic equivalent of Dissertation Abstracts International. Beginning with the first U.S. dissertation in 1861, represents the work of authors from North American and European universities on a full range of academic subjects. Indexes and provides access to Georgetown-authored theses and dissertations.
-
DigitalGeorgetown Institutional RepositoryProvides access to scholarship from Georgetown's Department of Biology -- including graduate theses and dissertations -- housed in DigitalGeorgetown.
