Your Librarian
Sharon Clayton
She/Her/They
Contact:
Lauinger Library
For research consultations or reference questions, please email me.
For research consultations or reference questions, please email me.
202-687-7467
Get Answers
HoyaSearch: Find Journals
What Is a Database?
The Library databases listed here are collections of journal articles searchable by author, title, keywords, subject indexing terms, and sometimes every word in the articles. They may contain or link to the full text of the articles, or they may only contain abstracts of the articles.
TIP: Many times a keyword search will give sufficient results. If not, look at a few relevant article titles, abstracts, and keywords or descriptors. They often suggest other good words to use in your search. Also look for "Find more like this" options in the database (although not all databases offer this).
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowCombines several of the Library's heavily used databases, including ProQuest Research Library, into one easy-to-search interface. Thousands of journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and other scholarly content on a very broad range of topics and sources.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowWeb database for scientific research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of Elsevier journal articles mainly in science and medicine, with some coverage of social sciences and humanities, particularly business, economics and psychology. The full text of most journals is available to Georgetown users. You can search across all journals or browse/search in an individual journal.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCumulates five databases:
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science
Emerging Sources Citation Index
Science Citation Index Expanded
Social Sciences Citation Index
In addition to traditional author, title and keyword searches, the citation databases offer access to articles' cited references (from authors' bibliographies). You may take a known, relevant paper and find other, more recent papers that cite it.
All Environmental Science Databases
To view all environmental science databases, please go to A-Z Databases on the library's website.
