Guides: Finance and Investment: Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Finance

Investopedia.com
Investopedia provides a lot of information on investing and allows users to look at it based on where they are in their investing life: as a beginner, experienced investor, active trader or preparing for retirement. There are tutorials, an investment game, a dictionary, research material and more.
Investor Information
Created by the Securities and Exchange Commission Office of Investor Education and Assistance, this page has links to SEC tips and publications that will help users to "invest wisely and avoid costly mistakes and fraud." It also has suggestions on doing research, interactive tools to look at mutual funds and publicly traded companies, information on filing complaints, and links to other investor education sites.
Yahoo Finance
This source is great for finding publicly traded company information. It contains chart, competitors, financial statements, historical prices, insiders, news, ownership, profile, and SEC filings. Organized by Yahoo, this meta site also links to information on U.S. markets, world markets, data sources, finance references, investment editorials, financial news, and other helpful Web sites.
Barron's Finance & Investment Handbook
A comprehensive glossary of investment terms and a financial dictionary of more than 5,000 terms. Also provides a thorough overview of almost every type of investment (including bonds, annuities, life insurance, etc.) and an analysis of many current investment opportunities.
more...less...
Reference Stacks HG 173 .D66

Finance Tutorials

Study Finance: Fundamentals of Applied Finance
Several web-based tutorials on topics such as reading financial statements, leverage, dividend policy, and more. From Prof. Sharon Garrison, formerly of U. Arizona.
Lynda.com Finance Tutorials
Several videos from Lynda.com on finance. Mostly personal finance, but topics include M&A, financial ratios, reading financial reports, and more. (Log in to watch a particular video.)

Economics

Qfinance
This webpage is trying to capture all things finance and economics.

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online This link opens in a new window
Designed for economists, this encyclopedia's articles read like those in economics journals. This is a continuously updated edition. It retains the descriptions of economic methods from earlier editions and adds more information on the findings of those methods. It also offers a new emphasis on advances in microeconomics, Bayesian theory, game theory and behavioral, international and experimental economics.

Metasites

FinWeb.com
Educate yourself on mortgages, loans, banking & credit, investing, retirement, insurance, taxes, real estate, and financial planning.
more...less...
Mortgage
FHA Loans Home Equity Loans Mortgage Basics Mortgage Calculators Mortgage Loan Education Mortgage Refinancing VA Loans
Loans
Car Loans Cash Advance & Payday Loans Hard Money Loans Loan Basics Small Business Loans Student Loans
Banking & Credit
Banking & Credit 101 Credit Cards Credit Report Credit-Building & Management Debt Consolidation Debt Settlement Personal Banking
Investing
Bonds ETF FOREX Trading Investing Basics Metals Resources & Collectibles Mutual Funds Options Stocks
Retirement
401 k Estate Planning IRAs Living in Retirement Retirement Planning
Insurance
Auto Insurance Business Insurance Disability Insurance Health Insurance Home Insurance Insurance Basics Life Insurance
Taxes
Filing Taxes General Taxes Small Business Taxes Tax Planning Tax Relief
Financial Planning
Budgeting Planning Basics Saving
Real Estate
Buying General Real Estate Home Improvement Renting Selling
Finance Directory
Banking & Credit Finance Insurance Investing Loans Mortgage & Real Estate Student Taxes
Videos
FINANCIAL RESOURCES
What's your home worth? Find Foreclosure Property Cash Advance & Payday Loan Financial Planners
Get a personal Loan Debt Settlement Check Today's Mortgage Rates 3 Free Credit Scores Free Financial Magazines
AIE's Investor Education
Includes links to information about bonds, financial planning, futures, investing basics, mutual funds, older investors, options, scams, stocks, teachers, and young investors

more...less...
"The Alliance for Investor Education is dedicated to facilitating greater understanding of investing, investments and the financial markets among current and prospective investors of all ages. We pursue initiatives for education and join with others to motivate Americans to obtain objective information and increase their knowledge and understanding of investing. "

Finance and Investment

How to Tell if a Company Is Still Active

Glossaries

Finance

Finance Tutorials

Economics

Metasites