Guides: Finance and Investment: Rankings

Sortable Databases

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text information on U.S. and non-U.S. companies. Includes company history, officers, subsidiaries, financial data, and annual reports. Access to SEC filings (EDGAR) back to 1993. Also includes Company Archives for historical information and US and International Industry Reports. Provides up to 30 years of historical daily international stock pricing, downloadable to Excel. Available to Georgetown alumni.
Forthcoming: Mergent Intellect
Covers over 80 million private and public companies worldwide. Corporate family tree and coverage of millions of executives.

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC)
Older codes system used in the US. Replaced by NAICS

D & B Business Rankings
Ranks US business (private and public) within state and industry categories by sales and number of employees. Going back to 1982-
more...less...
Current in Reference Stacks HG 4057. A237 and older editions in the Library Stacks.
Ward's Business Directory of US Private and Public companies
Contains information on public, private, and subsidiary companies. Contains company name with address, telephone number, sales, employee size, parent company, and key officers. Library owns every year back to 1986
more...less...
Most current in Reference Stacks HG 4057 .W52
Older editions are in the Library Stacks under the same call number but under different titles.