Need Help?
HoyaSearch: Find Journals
Google Scholar
Scholarly Resources
You must be a Georgetown-affiliate to access these databases.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowPrimary index to research in American and Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Limit by language, time period, and document type (articles, collections of articles, books, and dissertations).
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new windowConference proceedings and working papers from participating institutes around the world. Includes the full text of books and book summaries, journal abstracts, links to websites and a calendar of conferences and seminars.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowProQuest database providing the electronic equivalent of Dissertation Abstracts International. Beginning with the first U.S. dissertation in 1861, represents the work of authors from North American and European universities on a full range of academic subjects. Indexes and provides access to Georgetown-authored theses and dissertations.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new windowIndexes book reviews and articles from English-language periodicals, including scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Covers a wide range of interdisciplinary fields (including sciences into the 1950s), represented in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. For articles published after 1984, use Humanities Full Text.
- Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes the major scholarly English-language journals in the humanities (including history and literature). For articles published before 1984, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.
- International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowLimited to 4 simultaneous users.
An abstract of periodical articles on political science, government, international relations, and area studies. Indexes more than 1,000 international journals. The printed version (1951-1997) is available. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowNote: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields. - PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowA subject guide to journals, books, pamphlets, and government publications relating to economics, social conditions, and international relations.
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowIndexes otherwise hard to obtain research and publications from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Each item includes an abstract and, where available, access to the full-text of the report and/or the homepages and electronic mail addresses of the authoring institution.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Full text is available for titles marked with a green arrow.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCumulates five databases:
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science
Emerging Sources Citation Index
Science Citation Index Expanded
Social Sciences Citation Index
In addition to traditional author, title and keyword searches, the citation databases offer access to articles' cited references (from authors' bibliographies). You may take a known, relevant paper and find other, more recent papers that cite it. - Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
