Need Help?
Congressional Research Service
Description from CRS website:
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) works exclusively for the United States Congress, providing policy and legal analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of party affiliation. As a legislative branch agency within the Library of Congress, CRS has been a valued and respected resource on Capitol Hill for nearly a century.
CRS is well-known for analysis that is authoritative, confidential, objective and nonpartisan. Its highest priority is to ensure that Congress has 24/7 access to the nation’s best thinking.
Congressional Research Reports
The Congressional Research Service conducts research on public policy for Congress. These reports are highly regarded for the depth and accuracy of their research.
Use the Google Search below to find CRS reports in selected archives.
Info about CRS
This box provides more information about efforts to make CRS reports directly available to the public.
- Advisory Committee on Transparency - CRSThe Advisory Committee educates policymakers on transparency-related issues, problems, and solutions and shares ideas with members of the Congressional Transparency Caucus. This resource tracks information about CRS reports and efforts to make them more readily available to the public.
- Information about CRS Reports from OpenCongress.orgThe following materials from OpenCongress.org pertain to questions around the public availability of Congressional Research Service Reports.
- Discussion on the Future of Congressional Research ServiceThe Congressional Research Service (CRS) is a nonpartisan government agency located within the Library of Congress that provides policy and legal analysis to members of Congress on a range of issues. The Sunlight Foundation hosted a forum to take a look at the state of the agency and it’s future. A panel examined the expertise of CRS analysts, the accuracy and relevancy of its reports, and the prospects for improving public access to non-confidential publications.
ProQuest Congressional
Off-campus access to ProQuest Congressional is only available to Georgetown faculty, students, and staff.
- Advanced Search - CRS ReportsUsers are strongly encouraged to use the Advanced Search. You can narrow your search to items found in just the CRS Reports (1916-present).
CRS Reports Archives
OpenCRS has created a customizable Google Search that searches Wikileaks (and others partners) CRS collections
- University of North TexasThe UNT Library initiated a project to archive all the CRS Reports posted on the Internet. They currently have 10,863 reports in their archive (as of 2/5/09), the largest collection of CRS Reports on the Internet.
- Department of State Foreign Press CenterDefense and National Security; Democracy, Civil Society, Human Rights and Women's Issues; Economics and Trade; Emergency Preparedness and Disasters; Energy; Environment; Foreign Policy; Immigration and Visa Law; Law Enforcement and International Narcotics
- National Agricultural Law CenterAnimal Agriculture; Aquaculture; Bankruptcy; Biotechnology; Budget and Appropriations; Commodities; Disaster Impact and Assistance; Energy; Environmental Issues; Economy; Estate Planning and Taxation; Farm Bills; Farm Labor; Farm Policy;
- Federation of American ScientistsSecrecy and Information Policy; Intelligence; Homeland Security; Nuclear Weapons and Arms Control; Conventional Weapons Systems; Terrorism; General National Security Topics; Middle East; Foreign Policy and Regional Affairs; Space Policy; and Miscellaneous
- GlobalSecurity.orgNational Security; National Security: Budget; Weapon Systems; Africa; Asia; Europe; Russia; Southwest Asia; Western Hemisphere; Military & National Security; Intelligence; Homeland Security; Space; and WMD
- National Council for Science and the EnvironmentThe NLE currently posts 2,048 CRS Reports on environmental and related topics.
- Franklin Pierce Law CenterContains CRS Reports from 1993-present on intellectual property, cyberlaw, and electronic commerce.
- Thurgood Marshall Law LibraryThe Marshall Law Library archive contains over 600 CRS reports on Homeland Security/Terrorism and Health Law and Policy.
CRS Archive Indexes
- Guide to CRS Reports on the WebStephen Young, a Reference Librarian at Catholic University, has created an exhaustive index for all the CRS archives on the Internet. He also provides background information on the CRS.
- Source Watch: Congressional Research ServiceThis wiki-type entry offers background information on the CRS and provides a list of CRS archives.
- Index of CRS ArchivesThe Stanford University Social Sciences Research Group created an index of online archives holding CRS Reports.
