Need Help?
Additional Resources
- Century of LawmakingIncludes House bills from the 6th through 42nd Congresses and Senate bills from the 16th through 42nd Congresses. Search by bill number, page, date, or committee name.
- Congressional Bills: GlossaryWhat's the difference between H.R.1142, H.J.Res.1142 and H.Res.1142? This site provides a complete listing of abbreviations for definitions of types of legislation, versions of bills, and definitions of common versions of bills that you will see when researching legislation.
- Govtrack.us This link opens in a new windowGovtrack is an open-source project that tracks legislation, using Web 2.0 technology to deliver RSS feeds and email updates on pending activity. Look up members of Congress, search and browse bills and resolutions, find congressional voting records, or follow postings on the Govtrack blog.
- Law Librarian's Society of Washington, D.C. Legislative Source BookSearch here for the status on current legislation, learn how to perform legislative history research, or look for detailed information on key government publications like the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register, the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, and the Congressional Record.
- United States Code at the Cornell University Law SchoolLauinger Library has a selection of volumes of the United States Statutes at Large in print and microfiche from 1789 to the most recently received depository volume. Check the catalog record for holdings. HeinOnline has full text coverage of the Statutes at Large from 1789 through 2005.
Georgetown Databases
You must be a Georgetown-affiliate to use these resources.
Thomas
THOMAS (http://www.thomas.gov/)was launched in January of 1995, at the inception of the 104th Congress. The leadership of the 104th Congress directed the Library of Congress to make federal legislative information freely available to the public. For more information about THOMAS, please visit the About section (http://www.thomas.gov/home/abt_thom.html)
- Search Bill Summary & StatusSearch for specific legislation by Congressional Session (93-112 Sessions or 1973-present), Sponsor, House/Senate Committee, Stage in the Legislative Process, and by Date.
- Search Bill TextSearch the text of Bills from the 101-112 Congressional Sessions or 1989-present.
- Search Bill Text from Multiple CongressesCombined search of Bills by Text and Congressional Sessions (101-112 Sessions or 1989-present).
- Browse Bills & ResolutionsThis search allows you to browse Bills from the 93-112 Congressional Sessions or 1973-present. See "More Information" button for listing of specific bill types included in search.
- Current House Floor ProceedingsSee the activities of the House of Representatives for today or the previous 7 legislative days.
- Senate Schedule & CalendarsSee the Floor Schedule, Senate Legislative Calendar, or Executive Calendar for the Senate.
- Congressional Schedules, CalendarsA Congressional calendar is an agenda or list of business awaiting possible action by the House or Senate. Floor schedules list all the activity scheduled to take place in the House or Senate chamber for a given week or month.
ProQuest Congressional
Off-campus access to ProQuest Congressional is only available to Georgetown faculty, students, and staff.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowProQuest Congressional is the primary source for electronic government documents such as hearings, committee prints, CRS reports, legislative histories, the Congressional Record, federal regulations, and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set. Many documents are in full text and cover the years 1789 to the present; others are citations that are available in full text in print or microform in the library.
- Advanced Search - Congressional Hearings and CRS ReportsUsers are strongly encouraged to use the Advanced Search. You can narrow your search to items found in just the Congressional Hearings (1824-present) or CRS Reports (1916-present).
- Index TermsNeed help searching ProQuest Congressional? Try using the Index Term feature. This search allows you to select topics or what Congressional committee or federal agency published the document.
- Legislative Histories, Bills & LawsSearch Legislative Histories, Public Laws, Bill Tracking, US Code, Bills (Full Text), Statutes at Large, and Floor Votes from the 91st - 112th Congress (1969-2012).
- State CapitalCheck the status of a bill or search bill text, Search state statutes or find summaries of state laws, Find summaries or the full text of state regulations, Search publications for articles about issues affecting states, Locate information about state legislators, their staffs and state offices, or Link to other Web sites with useful information about the states
- Hot Bills & Hot TopicsThe Hot Bills & Hot Topics site presents organized links to bills and news articles related to issues of national importance. It features bills under consideration or recently enacted, along with news links grouped by topic area. ProQuest editors update the site monthly.
HeinOnline
The collections below will help you find federal publications available through HeinOnline.
- HeinOnline Code of Federal Regulations This link opens in a new windowThe Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), which is the codification of the general and permanent rules and regulations (sometimes called administrative law) published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government of the United States. The CFR is a multivolume set divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. The coverage offered in HeinOnline begins from the CFR's inception in 1938.
- HeinOnline Federal Register Library This link opens in a new windowThe Federal Register is updated on a daily basis. Its coverage is comprehensive and begins from inception (1936). Also includes the CFR from inception (1938), United States Government Manual from inception (1935), Daily and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents from inception (1965).
- HeinOnline U.S. Code This link opens in a new windowThis collection includes complete coverage of the United States Code dating back to inception in 1925-1926. Also includes the Early Federal Laws Collection, which represents the most complete collection of federal statute compilations prior to the US Code.
- HeinOnline U.S. Congressional Documents This link opens in a new windowThis collection features the complete Congressional Record Bound version, as well as the daily version back to 1982. It also includes the three predecessor titles: Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837) and Congressional Globe (1833-1873), as well as other important congressional material. Using the Daily-to-Bound Locator Tool, you can quickly find a page in the Bound volume from the Daily edition.
- HeinOnline U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals This link opens in a new windowFeaturing the reports, decisions, and records, this library is a complete collection of the official case law of some of the United States most important U.S. Federal Agencies such as: The Federal Communications Commission (FCC), the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB), and the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).
- HeinOnline U.S. Federal Legislative History Library This link opens in a new windowIn addition to the inclusion of comprehensive federal legislative histories published by the U.S. GPO and private publishers, this library also includes a unique finding aid based on Nancy Johnson's award-winning work, Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories. Researchers should begin their U.S. federal legislative history research with this finding aid, which often includes references to law review articles on-point to a particular legislative history.
- HeinOnline U.S. Presidential Library This link opens in a new windowDigitized collection of primary source materials on the U.S. presidency, including the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents; Public Papers of the Presidents; Economic Reports of the President; Code of Federal Regulations, Title 3; Inaugural Addresses of the Presidents; and full text publications on varied topics such as biographies, impeachment proceedings, and assassination reports.
- HeinOnline U.S. Statutes at Large This link opens in a new windowIncludes complete coverage of the Statutes at Large, and features multiple browsing and searching options to enhance the online value over the paper volumes.
