Get started
Encyclopedias and other reference sources can provide background information, historical context, summaries and factual information around your topic. Don't forget to use bibliographies to identify additional sources.Bibliographies
- Oxford Bibliographies Online - Latin American Studies This link opens in a new windowAnnotated bibliography of scholarship in Latin American Studies and related topics.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online - Latino Studies This link opens in a new windowAnnotated bibliography of scholarship in Latino Studies and related topics.
- Población Negra de América LatinaPut together by the UNAM. You can search by subject, type of document, author, title, etc.
Encyclopedias
These databases search hundreds of encyclopedias and dictionaries simultaneously. Read the description below each title in order to identify which Latin American and Caribbean material is included.- Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new windowWhen you search in this database, you can narrow your results to reference resources by clicking on “reference” in the left-hand column. Some encyclopedias included are: Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture, 2008; Cuba, 2012
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowThis database includes access to the Historical Dictionary of Mexico (2007); Cuba: Versión en Español (2015); Latin American Writers (1989); Latin American Writers supplement (2002); Latino and Latina Writers (2004).
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowThis reference database provides access to A Companion to Latin American Literature and Culture (2008) and A Companion to Latin American History (2011).
- Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new windowFull-text biographical information on more than 150,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
Directories
- Latin America Virtual LibraryThis page is edited and maintained, by Dr. Wayne A.Selcher, Elizabethtown College
- LANIC (University of Texas)Although no longer updated, this directory provides links to resources of interest. It's hosted by the University of Texas.
