Guides: Government and Politics: Media & Reference

News

New York Times (nytimes.com) This link opens in a new window
Registration required: follow the instructions on our New York Times guide and complete registration before accessing.

Provides unlimited access to New York Times content from 1981-present on nytimes.com. Includes access to the New York Times mobile app.
Washington Post (washingtonpost.com) This link opens in a new window
Direct access to washingtonpost.com for GU students, faculty, and staff. More information in the News Research Guide.
Economist.com This link opens in a new window
Articles from the print and online editions of The Economist, the world's weekly newspaper. With searchable archives back to the mid-1990s. (Use the Economist Historical Archive for older issues.) Access excludes apps, audio edition, or specialized newsletters.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Limited to 5 concurrent users.
Provides worldwide full-text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, and historical market data.
Politico Pro This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database providing legislative and regulatory insights, data tools and resources for policy research. On-demand, graphic visualization library translates complex policy issues and data sets into infographics. The Document Drawer repository offers primary source documentation. Limited state coverage also included.
National Journal Group This link opens in a new window
This group of databases provides very current news and analysis of politics, policy and government topics. The suite of titles consists of American Health Line, Congress Daily, Greenwire, The Hotline and Technology Daily. National Journal Group Inc.'s online sources provide briefings that are updated on a daily or weekly basis with a focus on news from Washington and Capitol Hill.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexi Uni has three primary collections: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
Foreign Policy This link opens in a new window
Foreign Policy is an American news publication, founded in 1970 and focused on global affairs, current events, and domestic and international policy. Access includes an online repository of all current and previously published Foreign Policy digital data, access to the complete digital print archive, topical and regional newsletters, podcasts, live interviews, and FP Insider.

The library offers full-text access to a variety of national and international newspapers through our database subscriptions. See the news & commentary library guide below or use the Journal Finder to search by title.

News & Commentary
by Lauinger Reference Last Updated Nov 21, 2024 1122 views this year

Reference Resources

CRS (Congressional Research Service) Reports This link opens in a new window
(Coverage 1916-Present): CRS serves the Congress throughout the legislative process by providing comprehensive and reliable legislative research and analysis that are timely, objective, authoritative and confidential, thereby contributing to an informed national legislature.
See also the Freely Available CRS Reports Database (2016-Present).
CQ Press Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
The online hub for all of the CQ Press products, including CQ Researcher, CQ Weekly,CQ Political Reference Suite / Online Editions.
CQ Press Political Reference Suite: Congress and the Nation (from 1945), Historic Documents Series (from 1972), Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, Washington Information Directory, Supreme Court Yearbook (from 1989) and Vital Statistics on American Politics.

CQ Researcher: Publishes 12,000-word reports covering the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more on a weekly basis. Note: There is a limit of 10 concurrent users.

CQ Weekly: Provides political and legislative news, features, trends, forecasts and congressional voting records.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Note: There is a limit of 10 concurrent users.
Publishes 12,000-word reports covering the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more on a weekly basis.
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Geographic, political, and economic information in narrative and statistical form on 192 individual countries. Provides GDP, growth, money, prices, unemployment, government, debt, trade, and balance of payments. Productivity data on five key sectors. Gives country rankings for trade, population, productivity, development and technology.

Annual Review of Political Science
The Annual Review of Political Science, in publication since 1998, covers significant developments in the field of Political Science including political theory and philosophy, international relations, political economy, political behavior, American and comparative politics, public administration and policy, and methodology.
Encyclopedia of Political Science
An authoritative survey of the state of politics and political science, this 2011 work consists of more than 1,500 A to Z signed entries by contributors from more than 30 countries, including 300 overview articles or interpretive essays.

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Not all cases and datasets are included in Georgetown's subscription.
SAGE Research Methods (SRM) has tools for every step of the research process in the social sciences, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, and writing up the findings. SRM includes reference entries for hundreds of research methods, over 1,000 books providing in-depth treatments on using various methods, and cases, datasets, and short video demonstrating and applying methods in scholarship.
Sage Research Methods includes:
Sage Research Methods: Foundations - brief but expert introductions to hundreds of research methods.
Sage Research Methods: Cases - 2,000 case studies of real research projects*
Sage Research Methods: Datasets - 500 datasets offering hands-on practice of methods and techniques*
*Not all cases and datasets are included in Georgetown's subscription.

Streaming Media

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
20,000 streaming documentaries, educational films, and instructional videos from the Films Media Group. Collections include Humanities & Social Sciences and Archival Films & Newsreels.
Kanopy Film & Media This link opens in a new window
This curated collection of streaming films from Kanopy's "Film & Media Collection" includes documentaries, foreign films, and many classic movies. Distributors include Kino Lorber, First Run Features, and the Media Education Foundation. Films are streamed through a "Netflix-like" website and can be watched anywhere, anytime, in any setting.