Guides: Government and Politics: Think Tanks & NGOs

Policy Analysis Databases

Policy Commons This link opens in a new window
Policy Commons is a one-stop community platform for research from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. This growing database is the world’s largest directory of policy organizations representing nearly 24,000 organizations and over 3 million publications.
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes otherwise hard to obtain research and publications from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Each item includes an abstract and, where available, access to the full-text of the report and/or the homepages and electronic mail addresses of the authoring institution.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new window
Conference proceedings and working papers from participating institutes around the world. Includes the full text of books and book summaries, journal abstracts, links to websites and a calendar of conferences and seminars.

Find Policy
Find policy was created by Transparify. TIP: Scroll past the sponsored results on the search results page!
Think Tank Search (Harvard Kennedy School Library)
A custom Google search that searches the websites of notable think tanks. Can search US and international.

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
A subject guide to journals, books, pamphlets, and government publications relating to economics, social conditions, and international relations.

American Enterprise Institute
AEI is a private, nonpartisan, not-for-profit institution dedicated to research and education on issues of government, politics, economics, and social welfare.
Brookings Institution
The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy research organization based in Washington, DC.
Cato Institute
An American libertarian think tank headquartered in Washington, D.C., originally founded as the Charles Koch Foundation in 1974.
Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
The Center on Budget and Policy Priorities is one of the nation’s premier policy organizations working at the federal and state levels on fiscal policy and public programs that affect low- and moderate-income families and individuals.
Hoover Institution
The Hoover Institution on War, Revolution and Peace at Stanford University is a public policy research center devoted to advanced study of politics, economics, and political economy—both domestic and foreign—as well as international affairs.
RAND Corporation
RAND Corporation is a nonprofit global policy think tank. It is currently financed by the U.S. government and private endowment, corporations including the healthcare industry, universities and private individuals.
Urban Institute
The Urban Institute gathers data, conducts research, evaluates programs, offers technical assistance overseas, and educates Americans on social and economic issues — to foster sound public policy and effective government.

Pew Research Center This link opens in a new window
Note: Access to datasets requires that you create a free account on the Pew website. "A nonpartisan 'fact tank' that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world."
Includes seven projects: the Pew Research Center for the People and the Press, the Project for Excellence in Journalism, the Pew Internet & American Life Project, the Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life, the Pew Hispanic Center, the Pew Global Attitudes Project, and Social & Demographic Trends. Note that Pew datasets are released on varying schedules, with some embargoed or not released to the public to protect the privacy or confidentiality of respondents.

Think tank watchdog organizations include: Transparify and On Think Tanks. For solid advice on using think tank analysis in your work read these journalist's tips.

Worldpress Review Online's Think Tank Directory
An alphabetical index of think tanks and research organizations.
Open Think Tank Directory
The Open Think Tank Directory captures information about more than 2700 think tanks from around the globe.
TTCSP Go To Global Think Tank Report
Annual rankings of think tanks.
Apolitical
Analysis & reporting on policy innovations, used by civil servants in 140+ countries. Strong international coverage. A good place to look for policy alternatives & their implementations. Note: you will need to create a (free) account.