Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

Slavery, Memory, and Reconciliation at Lauinger Library

This guide highlights the primary source documents at Lauinger Library that supports the goals of Georgetown University's Slavery, Memory, and Reconciliation Initiative.

Rare Books - Introduction

Georgetown University's Rare Books collection originated with the founding of Georgetown College and includes books that influenced the early Jesuit missionaries, the administrators and instructors of the College, and its students. The Library has also collected some of well-known examples of slave narratives, antislavery literature, Civil War pamphlets, and ecclesiastical texts pertaining to race.  A more complete bibliography is available upon request, of these wide-ranging printed materials. 

  • Researchers can also discover materials by title, author, keyword or subject search in HoyaSearch (making sure to limit results by location to "GU Only").

Anti-Slavery and Pro-Slavery Books

Anti-Slavery

Pro-Slavery

Slave Trade

Abolitionist Narratives

Civil War Pamphlet Collection

This collection contains both anti-slavery and pro-slavery tracts, speeches and treatises regarding emancipation and Reconstruction, sermons, and battlefield remembrances. 

  • To identify materials from this collection via HoyaSearch, type "Civil War Pamphlet Collection" (in quotation marks) in the search bar, and limit the results to "GU Only."

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy