Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

Slavery, Memory, and Reconciliation at Lauinger Library

This guide highlights the primary source documents at Lauinger Library that supports the goals of Georgetown University's Slavery, Memory, and Reconciliation Initiative.

Georgetown University Art Collection

The Georgetown University Art Collection contains many individual works received by donation and by purchase that depict Black people at work and leisure, as activists in anti-racist and social justice movements, and as subjects of character studies. The Art Collection includes art by 30 Black artists, and new works are being actively acquired. In addition, there are several works where the depiction of Black people is obscured: they are not the primary subjects, often overshadowed by white people, who are foregrounded. The art curators have created a detailed guide with images and information about these items, which may be obtained upon request.  Researchers should also consult the Art Collection Database, which consists of more than 21,000 catalogue records which can be searched by title, artist, medium, object type, period, region, or date. It is possible to search all of these fields using keywords.

The following art resources are a sample of works available in the Georgetown University Art Collection, part of the Booth Family Center for Special Collections.

19th Century Works

 

Phillis Wheatley (printed ca. 1834-1842) in the "Revue des Colonies"

Bernard Lemercier & Cie. 

(Paris)

Lithograph

View in the Art Collection database: link forthcoming

Farmers Nooning (1843)

Alfred Jones

(Unknown, 1819-1900)

Engraving on paper

Print

View in Art Collection database: 

https://art.library.georgetown.edu/Obj29977

Alfred Jones, Farmers Nooning

Hannah Amidst the Vines [alt: Octoroon] (1858)

Eastman Johnson

(American, 1824-1906)

Oil on illustration board

355.6 x 266.7 mm

Painting

View in Art Collection database:

https://art.library.georgetown.edu/Obj7442

Hannah Amidst the Vines

The Emancipation of the Negroes, January, 1863 - The Past and the Future in Harper's Weekly (1863)

Thomas Nast

(American, Landau, Germany, 1840-1902, Guayaquil, Ecuador)

Lithograph on paper

418 x 57 8mm

Print

View in Art Collection database:

https://art.library.georgetown.edu/Obj29734

Picnic on the Fourth of July (1864)

Lily Martin Spencer (after)

hand-colored engraving

View in the Art Collection database: link forthcoming

Georgetown Viewed from Roslin [sic] (1883)

C.W. Fleischmann

(German, 1870-1890)

Oil on canvas

457.2 x 609.6 mm

Painting

View in Art Collection database:

https://art.library.georgetown.edu/Obj7703

 

20th-21st Century Works

Negro Mother (1932)

Prentiss H. Taylor

(American, 1907-1991)

Print

View in Art Collection database:

https://art.library.georgetown.edu/Obj18553

 

 

Scottsboro Limited (1932)

Prentiss H. Taylor

(American, 1907-1991)

Lithograph on paper

Artist's book

View in the Art Collection database:

https://art.library.georgetown.edu/Obj15224

Brotherhood for Peace (1967)

Jacob Lawrence

(American, 1917-2000)

Lithograph on paper

557 x 399 mm

Print

View in Art Collection database:

https://art.library.georgetown.edu/Obj10418

Jamming at the Savoy (1981)

Romare Howard Bearden

(American, 1911-1988)

Etching on paper

422 x 603 mm

Print

View in Art Collection database:

https://art.library.georgetown.edu/Obj9082

Man (2003)

Elizabeth Catlett

(American, 1915-2012)

Woodcut with linocut on paper

457.2 x 304.8 mm

Print

View in Art Collection database:

https://art.library.georgetown.edu/Obj16900

The Occupation of Alexandria from Harper's Pictorial History of the Civil War (2005)

Kara Walker

(American, 1969- )

Commercial/offset printing with screen printing on paper

990.6 X 1346.2 mm

Print

View in Art Collection database:

https://art.library.georgetown.edu/Obj19845

 

Learn more about this piece in Art Curator LuLen Walker's article "Curator's Choice: Kara Walker's The Occupation of Alexandria."

 

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy