Public Policy Librarian
Welcome!
This course guide identifies recommended databases to use for your annotated bibliography and other assignments for your class.
Please contact Megan Hunt with questions you have regarding the research process on this or any research assignment related to environmental science and policy. If you need help with a different type of topic, I'm always happy to connect you with a subject librarian with relevant expertise.
The following guides might also help connect you to useful research resources:
Key Databases
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive coverage on environment-related subjects, from ecosystem ecology and renewable energy sources to environmental law and public policy. Contains full text for 950 journals, including many of the most used in the discipline, such as Environment, Ecologist, or Conservation Biology.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowFree (non-subscription) access to the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE and PreMEDLINE. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCumulates five databases:
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science
Emerging Sources Citation Index
Science Citation Index Expanded
Social Sciences Citation Index
In addition to traditional author, title and keyword searches, the citation databases offer access to articles' cited references (from authors' bibliographies). You may take a known, relevant paper and find other, more recent papers that cite it.
