Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

Student Activism at Georgetown

This guide will introduce researchers to history of student activism on campus.

Materials on Student Activism

Materials on student activism at Georgetown are spread throughout a number of collections in the University Archives and include material like photographs, news clippings, pamphlets, flyers, posters, protest materials, among other items. They document not only the perspectives and experiences of students on campus but also those of the University administration, faculty and staff.

Materials are divided into two categories: primary sources and secondary sources.

Primary sources are those materials that detail firsthand accounts of events or experiences, typically recorded at or around the time they happened. These types of materials include things like diaries, letters, interviews, business records, photographs, flyers, audio or video footage, among others. Newspaper articles created contemporaneously are typically considered primary sources.

Secondary sources are materials that use primary sources to analyze, review, or provide commentary a particular subject, whether it be a person, event, or experience. These types of materials include things like scholarly books and journal articles.

Please be aware that the materials presented are not an exhaustive list. Researchers are strongly encouraged to contact a staff member in the University Archives for assistance to better ensure that all relevant materials are identified. Be sure to read through the "Accessing the University Archives" section underneath the "Home" tab for information on how to access materials as not everything in the University Archives is automatically open for use. Researchers are encouraged to contact a staff member in the University Archives for individualized assistance.

Note: the University Archives continues to actively collect material related to student activism efforts. Student organizations who are engaged in activism on and off campus are encouraged to donate materials to the University Archives for permanent preservation. Feel free to reach out to Archives' staff for assistance in transferring materials or more information about the preservation services we provide.

 

Hoya article on student protests over US policy toward Haiti

Article from The Hoya, April 2, 1993

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy