Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

Student Activism at Georgetown

This guide will introduce researchers to history of student activism on campus.

Accessing the University Archives

The University Archives are open for use by all Georgetown students, faculty and staff as well as independent researchers that are unaffiliated with Georgetown. All researchers will need to register for a user account in the Aeon Request Management System and will be expected to follow the use policies set forth by the Booth Family Center for Special Collections.

Researchers should be aware that the University Archives are not open and browseable like the general library stacks. The staff in the University Archives will need to facilitate the retrieval of materials. Please also be aware that not everything in the University Archives is considered open and available for use. The following rules apply to the records of the University Archives:

Published documents: all published documents in the University Archives are available for use. These include things like newspapers, magazines, catalogs, directories, yearbooks, among others.

Unpublished documents: unpublished material dating from 1971 to the present may only be consulted with permission from the office which created it; unpublished material dating from 1970 or before may be used with the permission of the Archivist or the office which created it, unless otherwise restricted. Unpublished documents include things like correspondence, internal memos or reports, office files meeting minutes, personnel files, among others.

Researchers are encouraged to contact staff in the University Archives to help determine if permission is needed to access desired records. Staff are happy to work with researchers in submitting access requests to the appropriate office. The entire University Archives access policy can be found here.

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy